New Week, Feeling Good!

I woke up this morning in SUCH a good place. I don’t know if it was the girls day I had with Marisa on Saturday or if it was the all day texting I had with Heather on Sunday or the massive cleaning Dreamboat and I did on Sunday before I did my homework, but I woke up this morning feeling focused and ready to really get shit done. Given how I’ve felt the past few weeks, it’s nice to wake up feeling motivated and focused and ready to really get down to business.

Now if these blisters on the bottom of my feet didn’t hurt so much, things would be fantastic. 😀

I’ve been doing a great job at keeping my eating healthy. I made basil chicken with veggies for lunches to bring to work all last week and it was delicious. The one day I did go out, it was for a work lunch to Mellow Mushroom and I ordered a salad with Balsamic Vinegar. Do you know how hard that was? It was hard. Mellow is a weakness for me, but for me to get the GF crust, I’d have had to order a FULL pizza and realistically that wasn’t doable. I’m down from 209 to 207 because of it.

I only got one gym workout in last week thanks to an INSANE work week (I legit didn’t get home before 7 at all any day last week,) but I walked so much on Friday night and Saturday in DeLand with Marisa. We literally walked like 7 miles Friday night, and then another 5 on Saturday all while having fun hanging out and catching up. My right ankle is swollen again (stupid tendons) so I’m wearing my compression ankle thingy and I threw on some of my super comfy sneakers since they hurt less to walk in and it’s leaving my blisters alone. Kinda.

Marisa and I spent Saturday shopping and I got a new planner while I was out. I’m stupid excited about it because it’s August 2017 – December 2018. It’s brown leather and has gold lettering on the front, with arrows and the words “Follow Your Own Path.” Very Boho. I can’t wait to start using it. I’ve been looking for a new planner for a while now and am glad to have finally found one. I need to track things, and the Bullet Journal was an epic failure as was the other planner I tried. This one is more my style, a lot like the typical ones I’ve had in the past. It has a weekly section, which my last one did as well, but I’m going to try and use it differently this time around. Do you have a planner? What do you track in yours?

This week’s goal is to make it to each workout. No more excuses. Full training is just around the corner, and my planned races are not going anywhere. It’s bad enough I already dropped a couple of them since I haven’t been running. Gotta get my fat ass in gear.

Monday: Weights (lunch time work out!)
Tuesday: 3 miles
Wednesday: 2 miles (or rest)
Thursday: 3 miles
Friday: Weights
Saturday: 3 miles
Sunday: Rest and Stretch

One more thing – Those who know me personally know that music is a big deal to me. I was raised to appreciate all different styles of music and still do today. I’ve also made it no secret that I suffer from severe depression. On Thursday, Chester Bennington, the lead singer of Linkin Park, was found dead at his home of an apparent suicide. He was 41 years old. Linkin Park has been my favorite band since their first album was released in 2000. Their music is therapy for me, and the loss of the lead singer by his own hand is devastating. I want to take a moment and tell you that if you or someone you know is thinking about suicide that hope is real. Help is real. I’m walking, talking, living proof of that. Please consider reaching out before acting on anything. The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is 1-800-273-8255 or if you would rather chat with someone online or via text you can go to https://www.imalive.org/ 

Please know that you matter to someone, even when you think you don’t. Someone cares about you, even when you think you are alone. All it takes is one moment of hesitation to remind yourself of that. Instead of thinking about hurting yourself that way, find a pair of sneakers and lace up, throw some headphones on, blast Linkin Park so loud you’re going to injure your hearing, and go for a walk. Then go for a run.

I promise you this: if I can make it, then you can too.

26 thoughts on “New Week, Feeling Good!

  1. kookyrunner says:

    It’s nice when you start the week off on a positive note!

    Thank you for highlighting Chester in your post. I am a huge LP fan and the news was just SO shocking. I hope that his death will make people realize that we must talk about mental health.

    • jljohnson says:

      I was beside myself when I heard about it. I still haven’t fully accepted it I don’t think. It’s hard to accept, you know? His music touched so many lives. We simply have to take away the stigma that comes with mental illnesses. We have to make sure people know that it’s okay to not be okay.

  2. The Accidental Marathoner says:

    What a fun week! It’s so great to start the week feeling organized and accomplished! I’m a HUGE planner person and love the ones that span 18 months, July to the following December. I just bought my newest one and am busily transferring stuff from the old one to the new one. Always in pencil…of course!

    • jljohnson says:

      Always in pencil!! And stickers! All the stickers. Although I do have some fun colored pens that I use to write in permanent things like birthdays and anniversaries and the like. 🙂

  3. Coco says:

    I fail at all attempts of journaling, planning and list-making, but I keep trying. I will make lists, but never check them. Except grocery lists. I’m finally good at making/checking those!

  4. Jennifer LE (@runningwithpugs) says:

    Love this from you!

    I LOVE the salads from Mellow. I always get one loaded up with all kinds of veggies and dried cherries and fresh mozzarella. Yum yum yum.

    I am sorry that the loss of Chester touched you so deeply. It’s so sad when someone finds they just can’t carry on. We’re all in this together, and we just need to do our best to keep on swimming. ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. Rachel says:

    I was (am) very affected by Chester’s suicide, too. I feel like when musicians and artists that are super open and honest about their lives — and then their lives end in such a tragic way — it rocks many of us to our core.

    • jljohnson says:

      I’ve been a big fan of LP’s music since they first came out, and I was devastated when I heard the news. He was so outspoken about his depression, his suicidal thoughts, and his battles and I was so sure he would have been able to win his fight. I’m so heart broken that his demons won.

  6. Wendy says:

    I feel you on Chester’s suicide. It seems like we are losing a lot of rockers due to suicide and it’s tough! It’s a good reminder that even though these guys make great music, a lot of it is due to emotional pain…

  7. Nicole @ Fitful Focus says:

    I’m glad you’re feeling good and refreshed and ready to tackle the week! Suicide is very sad. I wish mental illness and depression were better understood by society. Acceptance and understanding would help a lot of people!

  8. jljohnson says:

    I agree, I wish more people would be sympathetic. I’m such an advocate for mental illness awareness. I want more people to realize what it means and what it’s about.

Leave a Reply

