June has Begun

 

Here’s how life is right now:

Today my dad is getting his third round of intense radiation for stage 4 lung cancer. My dog is up and moving around and she’s making me smile. Grad school is killing me slowly. Work is taking a lot out of me but I still love it. My place is a wreck but I’m desperately trying to put it back together. Dreamboat is in his own little world half the time, and the other half the time I think I have his attention. And I’m back at the gym in the mornings before work.

And I’m exhausted. All. The. Time.

It’s been hard trying to get back in the habit of getting up early enough to work out in the morning, but I know that once I am back in that things will be great. I’m resetting my alarms to wake up at 4:45 so I can actually get up at 5am.ย Right now it’s not happening. At all. Doesn’t help that Dreamboat is nice and warm and cuddly in bed too. ๐Ÿ™‚

THINK ABOUT THE SWIMSUITS JAMIE! THINK ABOUT THE SWIMSUITS!

I started back at the gym and back at working out June 1 but was so focused on what was going on I never got it up on the blog. If you were following the Facebook page, you’d have seen that I started a Plank/Wall Squat challenge this month as well My legs are SORE yo. But in a good way. My goal is to get myself comfortable running again before the August marathon training kicks in.

That’s right. I’ve decided I’m going to go for it. With or without a running partner. It’s about ME more than anything else. ย One and done for the full, and sticking with the half otherwise. (Pray for me)

Anyway, my focus for this month will be conditioning. Since I basically lost two-ishย months thanks to the Topamax (yay fewer migraines!) I am back at the start. So June will be focused on getting that progress back. Running every day, even if it’s just a mile, and doing some conditioning style cardio work or weight training on the shorter run days. I did calendars to include a pretty basic half marathon training plan but then I got my fat ass on a treadmill and went “well, then….” and figured that’s just not gonna happen. So I’ll stick to it the best I can and we’ll see how things go.

I need to stretch more so I’m trying to stretch a little before I get out of bed. I REALLY need to stretch my legs – especially my calves and quads. With my crazy routine though, it’s really hard to find time to fit it in. I’m all ears for some suggestions. Maybe leg stretches while I eat dinner on the floor before I start studying? who knows…

I weighed in at 204! That’s getting closer to the 200 lb goal for this month!! I’m hoping I still can make it. Granted we are only 5 days into it, but I am really going to try hard to make it this time. I haven’t seen under 200 lbs in a long time and it’d be nice to see it again. We leave for Italy on the 16th, a family trip with my parents (who as of right now are still going) but it would be nice to see weight loss progress even on vacation. I plan on running and doing classwork while there, hopefully, I can stick to the healthy eating while still enjoying the food there.

Let’s see, what else…. I think that’s really all there is to catch up on. In other news, Hocus got over her vertigo and was put on an additional pain med and that’s helped her some so she’s moving a little better now. She’s stable right now. Dad is doing okay with radiation, but we’ll know more next month. He has two more rounds of it and then another scan in July to see if any of it helped. The cancer is growing fast so hopefully, we can do something to slow it down a little. Uh….so yeah. Things are insane but stable.

Here is my plank/wall squats challenge if you want to jump in and join! ๐Ÿ™‚

24 thoughts on “June has Begun

  1. Elle says:

    My goodness you have a lot going on! I hope things go well for you Dad, and that once school is done for the semester that you will have more time to sleep and run and work out. Get the Dreamboat up and out the door with you…. ๐Ÿ™‚ And nice to meet you!

  2. Coco says:

    You sure have a lot going on! My alarm is set for 4:39 to go off before my husband’s at 4:40. I have to just GET UP because if I start the snooze cycle, it’s all over,

  3. kookyrunner says:

    Sorry to hear about everything that is going on and I’m sending all the prayers and positive thoughts to your dad.

    Great job on your challenges – I really love the ones that you selected.

  4. Clarinda says:

    Wow! You have so much going on right now. Good luck with your weight loss goal and all of your other June goals, too. Italy will be lovely. I’ve always wanted to visit there.

  5. Kimberly Hatting says:

    I love planks and wall squats! YOU will see results, but only after all the individual efforts…I know you got it!! Sorry to hear about your father (as well as all the other busy stuff going on). Take care ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Jennifer LE (@runningwithpugs) says:

    So many hugs. When you get back, please hit me up for a run or even coffee. I know you’ve been consumed with everything going on, but don’t forget to take care of you and give yourself a break. I won’t be joining you for marathon training, but I will cheer you along the whole way! Hang in there and have so much fun!

    • jljohnson says:

      Oh, girl!!! I’ve missed you so, but I’ve been following you along the way through social media. We will certainly get together when I get back. I need a smile and a hug from one of my favorite people! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. michellerogerscpt says:

    Congrats on your training plans! For me, exercise — especially if I’m getting myself outdoors — is really therapeutic and helps me cope with whatever else is going on in life. In tough times, I believe it has really helped me come though and when I’m out there it even makes me feel closer to God — which also helps, of course. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

