add-heading-1

I want to take a moment and apologize for disappearing again, especially when I told you that I wouldn’t do that anymore. I don’t want to give you an excuse, but my family is going through something pretty horrible right now and I had to take a step away without announcing anything because I was hurt and angry and I ended up lashing out at people irrationally. I can’t discuss with you what the situation is just yet as we are still in the process of informing extended family of what’s going on and going to appointments and the like, but once we have a solid idea of what we are dealing with, I’ll share the information with you. For now, I’m asking for prayers for my family: that we can find strength and understanding in this time. And if you are feeling generous, I know this might be too much to ask, but if you could add a small one in there for me to find some peace of mind and heart … I’d be grateful.

Now, back to what we are all really here for. Fitness.

In January, I added Dreamboat to my gym membership in hopes that he’d take advantage of it and start going to the gym as well. We both have to regain our fitness and our health if we want to be able to do the things we once did without being exhausted at the end of the day, and we agreed that this week is when we are going to start seriously pushing it.

We’re both going to be hitting the YMCA before work, only at different branches that work for our schedules: The Williams YMCA (which is rebuilt and BEAUTIFUL) is literally right up the street from his place of business, and the Brooks YMCA is right up the street from where we live and on the way for me to go to work. The women’s showers are currently under construction but thankfully we live close by.

I’m not sure what his plans are, but I’m going to stick to the idea of doing weight training three times a week, and running three times a week with my Saturday run being the longer run (goal of 5 miles.) I figure if I do that through March, going every day, I should be set and prepared to start beefing it up come April. I just don’t know if I want to continue doing the free weights like I have been or start taking the class that is offered instead. There are pros and cons: The class is a full body weight class, but if I do free weights, I can control every thing and as we have learned, I’m a bit of a control freak. πŸ™‚

What do you suggest? Should I try to do full body weights 3 days a week, or is splitting it up a good idea?

As for running, I figure if I keep it to 3 miles on Tuesdays and Thursdays, doing the 3 minute walk, 4 minute run intervals consistently, I’ll be able to work on some solid conditioning. I’m at 4.3 on the treadmill for the run portion and my heart rate has stayed roughly in the 170 range which is good. It’s closer to the 160-165 range my doctor wants. My guess is once this feels comfortable, I can bump it up to 4.4 and then 4.5, and hopefully get to where I am doing the run portions at 5. Then I want to focus on closing the walking gap. Slow progress is progress though, right?

I’ll post my plan once I have it finished. I was supposed to do it all yesterday but it took me longer than expected to finish my paper and I really needed to get that done. My final discussion paper and video presentation is due this week as well, then it’s off to Crisis Communications! I am hoping I get an A in this first class.

As for my diet, that is going to be a slow clean up too. Since the Trokendi XR has taken soda away from me, I’m drinking a lot more tea and coffee. Some sweet things taste almost too sweet now, almost to the point where I can’t eat/drink it anymore. I’m also downing a lot more water, which is always a good thing. I am, unfortunately, eating far to much gluten again though. I need to really buckle down and start eliminating that from my diet and get serious about cutting the pasta and breads out again. I think I was eating it out of convenience than anything else.

Lots of things coming to us in the new month. Dreamboat’s birthday is March 3, mine is March 27. Gate River Run (which I am woefully unprepared for) is March 11, and I’m doing a Color Me Rad on March 25. March will be my first month with no soda, and no breads if I can stick to it. A consistent work out plan and hopefully losing some weight and getting that number down. Let’s go do this thing.
Love,Jamie

13 thoughts on “

  1. Marcia says:

    Looks like you’ve got some exciting races coming up! I am mostly sugar free this year and I can tell you it’s hard but it does get better. Way to kick soda to the curb!

  2. Kimberly Hatting says:

    I need to cut sugar, too. I don’t over indulge, but I know I have way more than necessary in my life. UGH. I don’t drink soda much anymore….not sure how I scaled that out of my life, but it was pretty painless. I drink a lot of water (but I have to mix it with a shot of Mio or something). I have a March birthday, too (14th), it’s a fun month πŸ˜‰

  3. Rachel says:

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re going through some heavy stuff with fam. Hopefully it will all be resolved quickly for you.

    Speaking of sweet tasting too sweet… I had conventional jelly on pbj the other day (the kind with added sugars) and it was so incredibly sweet I almost couldn’t finish my sandwich!

  4. milebymileblog1 says:

    Sorry that your going through a rough time.
    Good luck with your fitness and diet! I did the Whole30 a couple of years ago and after a few weeks I didn’t miss the sugar at all.
    Sounds like there are some fun races coming up for you!

  5. Elaine says:

    Hope the family issues will get sorted out and you’ll have a peace of mind soon.
    Speaking of the Y, I love the one near my neighborhood. I haven’t gone to a weight training group class in awhile though. I prefer a full body workout where I target all my major muscles.

  6. MB Jackson says:

    I hope all is well- sometimes disappearing for a bit is necessary! Kudos to soda free- giving up diet Coke was key for me- it is surprising how good you will feel!

Leave a Reply

