Hello again, October

getting healthy

I kind of disappeared again. I honestly didn’t mean to, but I keep doing it inadvertently. Sometimes life gets in the way of things and I’m left having to figure out  what to do first, what to do next and what can wait. I don’t want to give excuses, so I won’t. Just know that I am trying my best to get back to my normal and everyday I make steps to get there no matter what gets done or doesn’t.

Now. We are officially 8 weeks from my first half marathon and I am part excited and part terrified. I feel wholly unprepared and nervous. And that’s only 8 weeks out!

Good thing I have a plan.

The hardest part of keeping to my fitness plan is making sure I can make all of my workouts. For example, tomorrow I am working a 12 hour day. I won’t be able to get my miles in, nor will I be able to get to my class. I could work out today but I ran 6 yesterday and need a day of rest. So my only other option is to do the miles on Friday after I get out of work, assuming I’m not in storm coverage due to Hurricane Matthew. Because if I am in storm coverage, I have no idea what my shift is going to be.

So there’s that. I’m not sure what to do with runs that are missed and not able to be made up. I feel kind of like a sloth and a failure. It’s so annoying. And I’m crazy slow right now so my focus has been on my runs, and not on my classes. I haven’t consistently been able to make all of my classes yet.

I am, however, officially registered for the Evergreen Pumpkin Run 10 miler at the end of this month (which coincides nicely with my 10 mile training run) and I registered for the Gate River Run as well. I still need to register for the Suburu Half Marathon on Thanksgiving ($45) and the Speedway Challenge in Daytona in March ($135) but am waiting till I get paid on Friday to get those done.

I refuse to let pace ruin my good time.

Mon – Rest
Tue – 3 miles
Wed – 4 miles
Thu – 3 miles
Fri – Rest
Sat – Yoga
Sun – 7 miles

I also had a doctors appointment a few weeks ago to talk about my health. Good news and bad news, which is par for the course. My BP and heart rate are looking good, and my EKG came back normal which is great. My weight and my cholesterol numbers, however, are up and it sucks. I can’t figure out why my weight, although I’m sure my lunch time diet has a lot to do with that. I need to quit eating out so much. And my cholesterol is tied to my diet and weight, so yeah. Doc and I have a plan of action and I need to be down 2-4 lbs before my next appointment on Oct. 25.

I’m already down 1.5. So that’s a plus.

Little victories, friends. Little victories.

Leave a Reply

