Hello, August

START

I noticed this morning when I woke up (with a migraine) to get ready for work that the sky wasn’t as bright as it was a month ago. Then Dreamboat told me “Happy August” and I realized, oh yes. It’s getting close to end of summer time. School will be back in session soon, pumpkin flavored everything will be out, and in other parts of the country that are not Satan’s playground as Florida seems to be will be seeing temperatures dropping steadily down to more comfortable numbers.

8 weeks and counting in half marathon training.

I spent part of last week in NC visiting my best friend Heather, and while I didn’t run we did walk a lot and there are hills in the mountains. My calves got quite the workout, and it was lovely. I feel like the time we spent together in Waynesville was something out of a storybook; everything was different from what I have in Florida. I was warned that if I did run while I was there, I should take it easy because at that elevation, the air is different.

Walking suited me just fine.

Now that I am home, it’s time to focus. I did lots of food prep on Sunday that included healthy options for lunches while at work as well as grab and go breakfasts. Hard boiled eggs, fruit cut up into single serve containers, chicken and fresh veggies, even stuff for dinners during the week. It took about 3 or so hours to get everything done and prepped, but it will save us time in the long run during the week, especially since I will be getting home close to 8pm after the gym three days a week. I also ran 5 miles on the treadmill at the gym. Well, ran/walked them. Getting back into running shape is hard. The good news is I used my new Netflix account to watch some Supernatural while I was on the treadmill.

Love me some Winchesters. (Shut up, Brian. I know you are reading this. It’s NOT a plot hole show)

Have you heard of a Bullet Journal? I started seeing tons of stuff popping up on my Pinterest feed, and did some research on it. I love the idea of it, but figured since I already have a planner for the rest of this year and next year, I’d modify it. I’ve started to include a tracker for habits, and am using the weekly spread to include stuff like weigh ins, cups of water, work outs, and the like. I’m sure that it will be easier to use once I get the hang of it. This is my second planner this year since I didn’t like my first one, so bailing on it to make a bullet journal in a new notebook just seemed frivolous. (I am, however, going to be using one of the many journals I have picked up over the past few weeks to start a fitness motivation thing. More on that later)

In the habit tracker, I’m tracking things like brushing my teeth every day and making sure I eat gluten free. I even included my blogging and my steps. It sounds pathetic, but sometimes I let life get away from me and I don’t get the things I want done, done. Redeveloping habits is key and I think this is one of the ways to make it back to where I want to be.

So far, it’s helping me keep on track. Then again, it is only the first day of the first week.

Here’s this week’s training plan. I’m skipping classes as needed to make sure I get the miles in, and there are a few days this week I might have to swap my night work outs for mornings since I need to work later than usual, but the good thing is as long as I’m getting the miles in, it doesn’t matter when I do them. The hardest part of this training is reminding myself that I’m starting over, and that my doctor is monitoring me this time to make sure I don’t do anything stupid. It’s hard to admit that I need to slow down, even harder to slow down, but in the long run it’s for the better. I think.

Half Marathon Training

For now, it’s a day of fighting off a migraine, making my chiropractic appointment and preparing for the rest of the week. I might be slow to start, but I’m focused on making my goals!
Love,Jamie

Leave a Reply

