It's a food thing

There is so much fruit out right now. Grapes, cherries, berries, oranges, watermelon… it’s a utopia of fruit! I’ve been eating as much of it that I can get my hands on, and I can’t ever seem to feel satisfied.

And the amount of fresh veggies right now is amazing too. I’ve been eating Zucchini and mushrooms and corn like it’s candy.

So I decided to share with you some of my favorite fruit recipes from my Healthy Eats: Fruit Pinterest page and from my Healthy Eats: Veggies page.

I’ve made most of them, and I can tell you that they are delicious and nutritious.

Grilled watermelon, Feta and Basil Salad: Okay, I didn’t actually make this one as much as I shared it with a friend, she made it and she brought me some – but it was the perfect mix of sweet and salty. I would never have thought to try and grill watermelon, but it’s actually kind of tasty. I was surprised.

Baked Apples: My girl Amber made these one time when I went to visit her in Atlanta. We kept the skin on the apples, stuffed them with nuts and brown sugar and some raisins, then wrapped them in foil and tossed them into the fire pit. 10 minutes later, we were noshing on them and it was a delicious treat.

Parmesan Baked Zucchini: I’m a big fan of zucchini mainly because it’s a great alternative for potatoes when you want to stuff something or bake it like fries. These were easy to make, and delicious. I actually switched it up a little and added some bread crumbs and melted butter, cut the zucchini into boats and stuffed it with the filling. Both worked out fantastic.

Twice Baked Potatoes: but if you want a really good potato recipe and have the time (and the calories available,) this one is a great one. I did it with a steak dinner we were making for my dad, and they came out delicious. Don’t forget the sour cream, it gives a great tang to the potato.

Here are a few other fun fruit and veggie ideas I adore:

  • Instead of bread, use apples for your peanut butter sandwiches. Yum!
  • Mixed berries are a fantastic snack. I’m obsessed with blackberries, but throw in some strawberries and raspberries and you have a tasty treat. Find some yogurt to add in and maybe a handful of granola? That’s a meal.
  • I love hummus, but I go through phases. I’ll eat it a lot and then I won’t eat it for a long time. In comes variations that keep me interested. My coworker introduced me to white bean hummus, and I found black bean hummus. Both good choices. (And did you know you can do hummus sandwiches? I didn’t!)
  • Muffin tins aren’t just for muffins or cupcakes. You can make mini egg muffins for breakfast. I always add mushrooms and sausage to mine for a boost in protein.

 

What’s your favorite fruit or veggie dish?

Leave a Reply

