It’s A Food Thing. It really is.

It's a food thing

Dreamboat and I have been talking a lot about our bodies. It’s basically been a hate fest on both sides. But we both agreed that we want to look and feel better, and that means losing some weight. Granted, I’ve been trying to do that all along, but now that he is on board it will be easier.

Yes, I’m aware that I am my own person and can and should be able to do this on my own. But isn’t it so much easier when everyone is on board and you are all working toward the same goal? Because it is for me. Unless it’s running, because I am at my best when I run alone. That cheerleader stuff people do when they run with you doesn’t work for me, instead it makes me angry.

ANYWAY – one of the biggest parts of losing weight is diet. In fact, diet counts more than just working out. You can work out all you want but if you have a shit diet then you aren’t going to lose any weight. So with half training starting in July, it’s time to sit down and really examine the diet and get it together. Something both Dreamboat and I are not good at is planning meals. We used to be. But we haven’t been so good at it lately.

That’s gotta change.

I’ve been doing good on cutting back on the soda. I only drink a couple a week now compared to my previous every day habit. I also snack a lot on fruit and yogurt (Greek, please) and I’ve rediscovered my love for raw almonds. But it all falls apart when it comes to meals.

Lunches are usually eaten out with my co-workers. Because cops love going out to eat, especially cheap eats. That doesn’t always equate healthy eats. And then dinners? Dreamboat has been making them since I’ve been going to the gym after work and it usually ends up being something we quickly throw together. Meat and potatoes kind of meals too. (Not that it’s a bad thing, Love. We just need to up our veggie game)

Meal planning is key, I know that. We were doing a great job with it, and it fell by the wayside when life got busy. Which sucks, because that’s when meal planning is most important. We need to get better at meal planning AND at food prep. Someone at work suggested we start doing crock pot meals so we aren’t really cooking when we get home, and I’m going to do some research on how to do something other than mulled wine and stews in a crock pot because that would actually help a lot. So would cooking as much as we can on Sundays when we are sitting at home not doing much.

That’s well and good for dinners, but when it comes to lunches – well. I just need to become stricter on when I go out. I don’t need to go out with them every time, and what is saving me is most of the classes I want to take at the gym are at 5:30, which means I have to leave work by 4:30 to make it in time to change and be ready for the start of class. That means a half hour lunch instead of a full hour. Totally doable if I bring my lunch. And lunches are easy. Salads, wraps, chicken and veggies… it’s more of a make myself do it thing.

Getting back into healthy habits is really where it’s at. What’s your favorite go to lunch or dinner?

Love,Jamie

Leave a Reply

