Add heading (2)

And suddenly it’s February! When did that happen? No seriously. Okay well, maybe I know where it went. January kind of flew by in a whirlwind of all kinds of crazy things that had very little to do with fitness and a lot to do with getting healthy.

Yes, there is a difference between the two.

And now, it’s February, and with that comes a new month with new challenges and a bunch of new things and I’m feeling pretty optimistic and positive because of it.

Kat and I have been running on Saturdays the past few weekends and we decided we were going to keep each other accountable. In case you don’t remember, Kat is one of my closest and oldest friends. We met in middle school and have been friends ever since. I got her into running years ago, and now we are both trying to get back into the swing of things. I usually hate training with others, preferring to really focus on running on my own but Kat and I have been running together for years. She knows when to push me and when to let me drag, she knows when to tell my demons to STFU and when to agree with them, she knows that while she can talk the entire time we run I’m not going to say much myself because I am focused on my breathing. We’ve been friends for 26 years. We just get each other.

Anyway – we’ve been running together and talking about the challenges we are facing with getting back into the swing of fitness and the like. We agreed that whether we want to run on the weekends or not, we are heading out and doing it. We agreed that we would be each other’s Jiminy Cricket about our weekday running. We agreed that we would help each other continue to make positive changes in our world that work on our mental stability as well as our physical one. And we are starting in February. It’s go time.

I’ve been on the medication for my blood pressure for two weeks now, going on three and I’m starting to feel some stability. My new doctor (who is AMAZING by the way) told me that there might be a few issues with the medication in regards to my running and I did experience them. I had major issues trying to get my heart rate up enough to run, but this morning when I ran, I felt pretty good. I told my doctor that I wanted to give them two more weeks before considering changing them just to see if it all levels out. On the other side of the coin – they are TOTALLY working. My BP has dropped from 150/100 to 135/92 and my heart rate is dropping as well. Good number changes!

I went 10 days without soda, and then broke down and drank it this weekend. Dreamboat and I had tickets to the Rolex 24 in Daytona, and they had Coke products. I ordered it without thinking. I didn’t want to drink alcohol, so I went with my knee jerk reaction. But starting tomorrow, I’m back to coffee and tea and water. This small setback is no big deal.

I’m excited for February. Here is some Monday Music.

Add heading (3)

Love,Jamie

Leave a Reply

