Half Marathon Training: Where’d my mojo go?

Half Marathon Training (2)

Sometime between now and the beginning of the month, I lost my mojo. I’ve hardly run at all this month, and not because I don’t want to. I have, however, spent the last three out of four weekends as a migraine riddled blob on the couch so I know that doesn’t help.

I couldn’t tell you what caused it, because I don’t know. That’s not true: I do know. And it’s been the same damn excuse. And it isn’t like I haven’t been doing anything. I’ve been stretching and doing yoga, and making plans for December on. So what does that mean for the two half marathons I have next week? Well…. It’s a good thing I don’t have time goals.

I’m actually really looking forward to the race on Thursday. My sister is coming into town and she is going to run the Suburu Half for time as she is trying to get a time goal for a race she is registering for. Knowing that, she isn’t going to try and run with me. That leaves me to my music and my pace. I’m still doing the Galloway method on my runs (and the cooler it is, the faster I go) so I know there will be some walking in there. I’m looking forward to racing for the first time since the Gate, for getting out there and really enjoying the process, for being able to say I did it again.

And just in time for the holidays is the Runner’s World RunStreak, Holiday Edition. One mile a day from November 26 to Jan 1. Adding in those one mile runs between my already scheduled runs will hopefully get my butt out there every day. And Brian is working nights all the way up to Christmas Eve so there really isn’t a reason why I shouldn’t be out there. Other than pure laziness. So it’s time to work on that.

Speaking of – Dreamboat has informed me that he is no longer going to be running after this years Space Coast Half. He has a variety of reasons, all very real and very logical, of why running is just not going to work out for him – including he just doesn’t like it anymore. I’m kind of bummed because I always thought it was something we could do together, but with his work hours and his hips/knees I can understand him wanting to find something different. In turn, it makes my running a more personal thing. Because now, I’m on my own.

I’m not good with that. I do better in teams and groups and the like; group classes at the gym always worked better for me than running alone. So now I have to learn how to run by myself. Challenge accepted.

Now that it’s dark when I get home, Brian has been adamant about me being safe when I’m out there, especially since he’s working nights and is not right around the corner anymore. After some digging I found my head lamp. It will help me keep from getting hit by cars as I run at night now that it is dark when I get home from work. Between that and the reflective patches on the cheap arm band I have to keep my phone in, I have some good gear. I am still on the hunt for some reflective gear or glowing stuff so I can be seen perfectly.

Let’s see…. what else?

Oh! I’ve gotten into meal planning and cooking, and have stuck with it. It’s not just for lunches either. With Brian working nights and me running after work, I’m usually not home and showered and ready to eat until like 8pm. And I don’t want to cook. So I grab one of my food prepped meals and throw it in the microwave and in two short minutes BOOM. Dinner. This could all change again when Brian is off nights (which realistically could NOT be January. Valentines Day is the next holiday after all) but we’ll see what happens.

And starting the Thursday after Thanksgiving, I’m going to start climbing the stairs at the Bank of America building in prep for the Fight for Air Climb. My Dad is a Lung Cancer Survivor and still has issues to this day. It’s the day before the Daytona Beach Half, so I have to find a way to do both.

And that’s it. For now. Thanks for rolling with me the last week. At work we had a promotion ceremony, a serious accident involving a school bus, a death in the SJSO, and we moved offices. I was in bed at 9:00pm on Friday and have gone to bed early all weekend. I’ll try to do better on keeping you guys up to date! 🙂

One thought on “Half Marathon Training: Where’d my mojo go?

  1. Becky says:

    I’m so sorry to hear your migraines are back:(
    I had the decompretion surgery almost 3 months ago and have been feeling great! I don’t want those horrible things back….
    I haven’t started running yet for fear of not healing all the way.
    I love hearing about your running adventures and hope to be back on the road with you!
    Happy thanksgiving,
    Becky~

Leave a Reply

