Half Marathon Training, or something like it

Half Marathon Training (2)

You know what I love about being super duper busy? When it comes to an end. I adore hanging out with my friends and doing things with the people I adore, but we’ve been going NON STOP for months now and we are finally moving into the slow period.

I shouldn’t complain. I know people who are always trying to find something to do with their time, and I should feel blessed that so many people want to do things with the Dreamboat and I. I do feel blessed; honored that people would want to hang out with us on a regular basis.

But when home starts to look like a permanent shit storm, when you blow off your runs because of things to do with friends, and when you spend more time with them than you do with your significant other – it becomes an issue.

And we are just under a month away from Suburu, a month and 2 days before the Space Coast.

I know that Dreamboat really wants to spend time with our friends, especially since in the darker times of my depression we didn’t hang out with anyone because I didn’t want to deal with it. And Dreamboat has made it abundantly clear that he doesn’t want my running to interfere with our social lives either. But he also knows that sometimes we need to take time for ourselves, for each other, and for the things that are important to us. Like running.

I logged my races into the shared calendar we have on our phones and he was sort of taken aback at the races I was doing. There are a lot. Hell, he paid for one of them! But the bottom line is I want to get back to racing Jamie, not just running Jamie.

He’s now working nights for the next 6 weeks at least, which gives me the freedom to run after work without guilt. I know that he isn’t waiting on me to come home and eat dinner, and I can take my time since I don’t eat a lot after I run anyway. And he’s working Saturdays now for a while, so my long runs can get done without knowing that he’s waiting on me to get home and do something. That helps too. I’m kind of hoping that this running schedule becomes such a routine that I don’t even think about it anymore, I just walk in and change clothes and go and that will help getting the running done sooner so we can spend the evenings together.

I’m also kind of hoping that he is interested in getting back out there himself. Maybe not running but something. And with it getting cold, it’s time for crock pot dinners like roast and potatoes or chili or whatever else I can make in a crock pot.

In other news: I’ve officially run more miles than September, and am 4 miles away from beating my “most miles” month for 2015. I’d say that I’m finally starting to get my groove back.

This week’s training:

Half Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

