Half Marathon Training: What was I saying?

Half Marathon Training (2)

Ever have that moment when you have a post well thought out and planned and the moment you sit down to write it out you completely blank on it? That is what is happening right now. I had this epic post about something fit related. Like diet, or running, or even inspirational or something. I remember thinking about it on the drive into work and then BLAM – I completely forgot what it was that I was going to write about.

Dang it. I hate it when that happens.

I did my 8 miles on Saturday, and suffered for it on Sunday. I don’t know if it was my gait, my stride, my exhaustion, the fact that we walked more than we ran or what – but my foot hurt something fierce. I did my stretches, iced, and stretched some more so now it is just down to a dull ache when I step wrong instead of massive pain every time I walk. I have drifted away from my yoga practice and I need to get that back into my routine. I’m thinking about bringing one of my yoga mats here to work and doing lunchtime yoga in my office. There is JUST enough room in this one to lay out the mat and do some yoga in it. There will be more room when I swap offices, which is slated to happen before the end of the month.

Speaking of that, I haven’t been to the fitness center yet. I keep getting pulled in different directions to do other things, which is a lame excuse. I need to just focus on getting my lunch hour in there. I do need to do some weight lifting because hauling some of this equipment I have now is exhausting. It’s heavy and clunky. Gotta get some Body Pump in. Maybe in February I’ll celebrate the paying off of all of my credit cards with the purchase of it so I can lift at home. I miss pump classes.

This week is a taper week, but given I have YET to make a 4 mile run during the week it’s still going to be a challenge. Last week my goal was to run every mile I needed to, but I missed 7 miles. This week I’m not going to let that happen. The only way I’m going to be able to get back into this is to make this priority an important one.

What does that mean? Funny you should ask. Dreamboat and I had a tiff about things, and priorities were brought up. How everything is a priority, it is just a matter of how much of a priority it is. In the middle of our tiff, Brian yelled at me “Yeah well I thought you would be 150 pounds and running a sub 11 minute mile, but that didn’t happen.” He went on to say that if running was such a priority to me, I wouldn’t be blowing off miles like I have been. And this isn’t the first time he’s called me out on it. He made a comment a few weeks ago in front of other people about how a friend of ours is running more than I am when I was talking about running. While his tactics are shitty, and believe me I called him out on that, he does make a point.

Everything is a priority in life: work, marriage, fitness, your personal self, everything. It just depends on how much of a priority things are. And being on the same page is a biggie too. For me, my marriage is a top priority for me but for my husband it can’t be a top priority because he is starting double shifts at work, 6 days a week. His top priority has to be work and his personal self to be able to make it through the next 8 weeks of insane scheduling, and the best thing I can do to help that is to take care of things at home. Which in turn will help our marriage. And my running, because if he’s working late nights I’m going to have a lot of time to myself. It’s going to be like we are back at WJXT working opposite shifts. Which we had a love/hate relationship with.

So my top priorities are my marriage, my fitness and my personal self. Everything else comes second to that, and everything in my top priorities thrive on each other.

Huh. I guess through my rambling I found what I wanted to talk about after all.

ANYWAY – now that I’ve talked your ear off, here’s this week’s plan. (note: on the plus side, I’ve already exceeded last months miles. I’m calling that a win:)

Half Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

