Fighting the Ick & A Change in Plans

It started on Friday morning, at 3am. I woke up to a sharp pain in my ear and absolutely no ability to breath through my nose. I know this feeling. I hate this feeling. I haven’t felt it in almost two years, which made me think I was finally over whatever was causing me to get sinus infections at the drop of a hat.

With a deep sigh, I got out of bed and grabbed some sudafed that I still had in the medicine cabinet and convinced myself to go back to sleep. When I woke up again, it was worse. All of our weekend plans got scrapped because I continuously got worse as time went on.  Then, on Monday afternoon, I bit the bullet and went to the nearby Minute Clinic to get the evaluation and grab some antibiotics.

For the record: I’m a horrible sick girl. I’m whiny and needy and just a nightmare. I try to not vocalize it much but I also know that I do it unconsciously so poor Dreamboat has had a crappy 5 days with his darling wife, withering away in a puddle of snot filled tissues (4 boxes to date) and CVS brand menthol cough drops (feels so good on my throat) while huddled under a quilt trying to get better in the beat up old recliner. 

I’m currently on day three of the antibiotics, and today is the first day I’ve felt “strong” enough to do something other than stare at the television all bleary eyed as some brainless show plays out, cough and sneeze the crap out of my sinus cavities, and whine about how awful I feel. I’m hoping this means I’m on the tail end of the Ick. This one hit me hard. No me gusta.

However, while I was wallowing away in a miserable pile of goo, Brian and I started mapping out our plans for the rest of the year. We have some big events coming up and vacations and the like and we needed to make sure that we had all of our bases covered. Which called one of  my half marathon’s into play.

The first one, actually.

The first weekend of October is pretty full. The Friday night we are going with friends to “Brew at the Zoo.” We had committed to do this before the half marathon was even a thought.  Then, on the Saturday of the race, we are supposed to be going with our “other halves” if you will to either Orlando or Savannah for the day to celebrate his birthday. (Note: our “other halves” is another couple that we are super close to: Ryan and Dawn. We’ve been friends for over a decade, and people call us the “fantastic 4” because we are literally inseparable) and then on that Sunday, I am co-throwing a bridal shower for my friend Heather.

With a weekend already that packed, there is no way I can fit in a half marathon and give it the justice it deserves. I told Brian I wasn’t planning on running it for time, and he pointed out that I haven’t been consistently training due to life and my mental issues and that it would just be more fair to push the first half to Thanksgiving. I begrudgingly agreed.

So that means a change in plans and a change in training, which works out since I’m no where near running ability right this moment and I’ve already blown most of the training anyway. I’ll be working on a new calendar for when it will officially start with my new “first” half and we’ll go from there.

This year has been absolute hell for me, with so many things changing and being thrown at me. Brian pointed out that I need to focus on getting “back to good” as he put it before I start putting harsh goals on myself, and while I think I am doing just that I get where he is coming from. I’ve had a roller coaster of an emotional year and taking some time to get it together and then jumping into the training is more logical than trying to start something when I’m only half into it.

The drive is there though. And that’s half the battle.

One thought on “Fighting the Ick & A Change in Plans

Leave a Reply

