Half Marathon Training: Week 2

Half Marathon Training (2)

Last week was a slow start to training. Trying to get back into the habit of running just about every day when you haven’t been doing that is tough, and the humidity here in Jacksonville is NOT helping any. Seriously, it’s already hot as balls outside, adding in the 85% and higher humidity makes just walking to the route a hot mess.

But if nothing else, training in this kind of weather will make me a stronger fall weather runner. It’s almost like it’s endurance training: pushing myself to run despite the conditions, my mind on finishing the run and not on the time it takes to get it done will make it more fun and a hell of a lot easier in the fall when the temps start to dip down below 85.

I’d be lying if I said this was fun though.

Saturday’s long run was hard. It didn’t help that I went out later than planned, heading out at about 8:30ish. By that time of the morning, despite being overcast and without the pounding heat from the sun, it was still in the high 80s with the humidity at 87%. 4 miles felt like torture: I felt my face inflamed with heat, I felt it hard to breath, and despite my body wanting to go faster I had to fight with it to slow down just so I could inhale a full lungful of air. It was awful.

But I was proud for getting out there and doing it. Like I said, it’s tough to get back into the habit. I’m sure if I actually got my gear on at 6:30am when I woke up instead of hanging out in bed and cuddling with the Dreamboat it would have gone easier, but hey – a girl can only say no to her man so many times before she gives in!

It was on Saturday that Brian told me that he gave me the money to register for the Daytona Half Marathon. The conversation kind of went like this:

Dreamboat: So I gave you the money for the Daytona race.
Me: *Staring at him wide eyed* You didn’t have to do that.
Dreamboat: I know I didn’t.
Me: *still wide eyed* ……. thank you.
Dreamboat: Whatever, just get registered.

See, it was just one week after I left WJXT that the Daytona Beach Half opened for registration. I was frustrated when I saw that.

Me: Of COURSE the Daytona race would open to registration after I lose my source of income.
Dreamboat: How much is it to register?
Me: Right now? The half is $75
Dreamboat: What is it worth to you? What do I get out of it if I pay for it?
Me: *Silence*

See, I know this tactic. Usually it comes out when it’s a frivolous expense, when it’s a WANT and not a NEED. When Brian and I had to make a deal with replacing my car, knowing that he would have to pay for it until I was able to free up some of my expenses (which is in January, btw) he didn’t say anything about it other than I can’t put any stickers on it until I start paying for the car. But when I said I wanted to get something I want, like extra cash to go visit my sister in Orlando and go to a theme park? That’s the comment I get. And he’s right, it’s an unnecessary expense given our situation. So when he said that to the race, I didn’t even think about it. I didn’t joke about it, I just shrugged and looked out the window.

I try very hard to not have Brian pay for races that I am doing alone. Running is my hobby, my obsession. While he has run with me in the past, it’s not something he is really that into. Plus: he’s a tall guy with knee issues already from a previous accident that left him with a dislocated and broken knee cap and a Stone Cold Steve Austin style knee brace for almost 3 months. For him, it’s kind of painful to run so I only ask him to do races that I think he would care about. The Space Coast Half, for example. The medals are space shuttles, and he’s a space junkie.

But to have him give me the money needed to pay for the Daytona Beach Half Marathon registration is kind of a big deal to me. Sure it’s a NASCAR related road race, and he’s a junkie for racing too… but he’s not going to run it. I am. It’s a big deal, and I am not looking a gift horse in the mouth. Now I want to do the best I can to show him how grateful I am.

Nothing motivates you to get your shit together and really focus on your fitness plan like the gift of a race you really want to do by someone who doesn’t care about running but does care about you. It’s a really touching gift. PS: I’m back on My Fitness Pal again. Anyone want to keep me accountable?

So that being said – I can update my running plan to this: 

Marine Corp Half Marathon – October 3, 2015
Suburu Half Marathon  – November 26, 2015
Space Coast Half Marathon – November 29, 2015 (REGISTERED)
Jacksonville Bank Half Marathon – January 3, 2015
Best Damn Race Jacksonville – January 16, 2015
Daytona Beach Half Marathon – February 7, 2015 (REGISTERED)
Best Damn Race Orlando – March 5, 2015
Gate River Run 15k –  March 12, 2015 (Okay, so this isn’t a half. But it’s a goal race so it’s on here)

Here is this week’s training plan…what are you running?

Add a little bit of body text (1)

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Week 2

  1. ilkasblog says:

    Very nice gift. Touching story. If that’s not motivating than what is? Seems like everybody had a bad long run last week. It will change as soon as we get through this heat! 🙂

  2. hellyontherun says:

    My husband asks me each time I sign up for a race what my goal is. He says if we’re forking over the money, I better put in the work to do well or it’s not worth it lol! The goal is always to beat my previous course time (if it’s a course I’ve done before) or a distance PR. So I always train hard and run hard for him –he’s my biggest cheerleader and motivator. I think about him often when I run 🙂

Leave a Reply

