It’s A Food Thing: Compilation of all the things.

So I’ve been slacking royally in the blog department, and I apologize greatly for that! But – that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been keeping up with some of the things that I said I was going to to. And failing at some other things because lets be real… real life is INSANE (in the membrane… INSANE IN THE BRAIN!)

Sorry. I’ve been sleep deprived lately. What’s it take to sleep straight through the night? Oh, right. CARDIO. *grumbles about being injured*

Anyway – here is a quick compilation of all the things I’ve been doing food wise lately. Maybe some of these things can help you!

Green Tea: It all started when we were in Cancun and that restaurant had the green tea water. It was basically a cup or two of green tea in a pitcher of ice water and it was delicious. I drank so much of that stuff it was crazy. I tried to replicate it here at home and didn’t seem to make it work and figured it was the type of tea that I was using. In comes Tazo Teas. These teas are amazing. First off, they are completely organic and original. The tea they purchase to make their tea bags is beyond fresh, it’s authentic, and it’s unblended in the purchase process, which allows them to mix the teas into a blend that is perfect for the palate and also has the best scents and flavors there is. Each bag is sealed individually to preserve freshness and it’s wonderful. Lately I’ve been drinking the Zen (green tea with lemongrass, lemon verbena leaves and mint) Green Ginger (green tea with ginger and lemongrass) and the Organic Spicy Ginger (ginger, green rooibos, citrus, chamomile and licorice root.) And I love them. I highly recommend it if you are looking for an alternative to water for your fluid intake.

Probiotics: So I’ve been taking these things for the past few months, and I have to say – I like them and I’m an idiot for not taking them sooner. They have made me more regular and less bloated, even when I am eating things I’m not supposed to be eating like pumpkin muffins for breakfast and subs for lunch. I’ve been using these probiotics by Phillips and even though they are a bit pricier than I would want to spend, I like how I feel while taking them. If you are on the fence about trying a probiotic, I recommend giving it a month or two and see how you feel.

Oatmeal: Panera has this crazy amazing oatmeal. It has cinnamon crunchies and strawberries and pecans and its delicious. And suddenly, my desire to have oatmeal has arrived. But not the Quaker Oats kind of oatmeal, not the quick kind… but real oatmeal. And this stuff is delicious. I want to find stuff to try and recreate it here at home. But I haven’t yet. If you know what kind of oatmeal I should be using to replicate it, let me know!

Chia Seeds: So I have a container of these seeds and I try to add a tablespoon to my Greek yogurt when I remember to eat it and it makes these seeds mushy and crunchy all at the same time and it’s kind of neat and creepy at the same time. I’ve learned that this amazing small seed is packed with protein and is super healthy. So I need to start adding them to some new things. Suggestions?

Beefing up the protein: Protein has been a tough thing for me because I don’t always like eating meat. BUT – There are some great alternatives. I love black beans. I love Greek yogurt. I love peanut butter. And protein means not getting hungry soon.

What am I looking forward to this summer food wise? All the fruit! Fruit everything. Lots of salads but not the usual ones. Sangria with all the fruit. Berries, lots of berries. You get the idea. 🙂

What are you looking forward to? Any favorite recipes I should try? Tell me below!

Leave a Reply

