Gate River Run Training Week who knows, I’m ALIVE!

Well, kind of alive. Mostly alive. I’m breathing easier now anyway.

The ick that plagued Dreamboat for three days hit me for almost 9, and then to top it off, I got a violent stomach bug that has me feeling sick. I’m still battling the congestion too. It’s gross: but I feel like the stuff coming out of my nose – while clear/white – is thick and sticky. Part allergies, part ick. Good times.

I spent a good part of last week sleeping, coughing, blowing my nose and drinking lots of Tazo’s green ginger tea. Which, by the way, is AMAZING. I was in bed between 8:30 and 9pm almost every night, and was hopped up on so much Sudefed it was ridiculous.

I missed almost the entire week of training. I was able to get out there and do some speed work on Wednesday, but cut it short when my breathing turned into wheezing that I knew was not related to running up the train bridge as fast as I could. Then yesterday, on a whim, I went out and ran the 8 miles that were on the plan. I started out pretty good, and was keeping a pretty solid 12-minute pace overall for most of the first 4-5 miles, but then lack of sleep and dehydration and obvious signs of being

Then yesterday, on a whim, I went out and ran the 8 miles that were on the plan. I started out pretty good, and was keeping a pretty solid 12-minute pace overall for most of the first 4-5 miles, but then lack of sleep and dehydration and obvious signs of being sick for a week had kicked in and I slowed significantly. But, there were a lot of factors leading to the drop off for me (and if you follow me on Instagram/Facebook you have heard me complain about them) yet overall I felt good despite being tired. So I knew that if I was feeling 100% I could have done better. That’s promising, given how much I am beating myself up for missing a week.

Now, I’m nursing some really bad heel pain with ice packs and the awesome PF boot on my left foot, and have a date with my foam roller for the IT bands. I also see some serious stretching in my future, but overall I feel good. Not really overly sore, but then again, I didn’t do any bridges either. I keep forgetting how important stretching is to runners….

This week, I’m jumping back into training. This weekend will be tough as I have producer training after my scheduled shift on Saturday (which is a rest day anyway) and we have tickets to the Daytona 500 (YAY NASCAR!) on Sunday, so getting in my long run on Sunday might be tough. But I’m also going to be walking the entire day so I could just count that.

SUBTITLE (4)So that’s the plan for this week. I promise now that I am healthier and stable I will get back to your regularly scheduled blogging. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for rolling with me and for being such great friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Gate River Run Training Week who knows, I’m ALIVE!

Leave a Reply

