Week Two: Gate River Run Training begins!

Getting back into the habit of normal, everyday training is tough. It’s especially tough when you are someone who suffers from random headaches and migraines despite your surgery that leave you sidelined and miserable.

The surgery was a success…the migraines, I used to have, those lasted 5-7 days straight with a pain level of 11 on the 1-10 scale, are gone. Now, I’m left behind with random headaches that occur when I sleep on my pillow wrong, spur on some muscle spasms, or with the weather drastically changes. Much like the 40-degree temperature drop we had earlier this week that kept me from running on Thursday. I still see my neurologist on a monthly basis to keep tabs on how these migraines/headaches develop and see if there is a trend that is causing them much like how we discovered the surgery would be a success for me with the nerve issue. But for now, I play Russian roulette with the days that go by in this whacked out Florida winter.

I was still able to get about 15 miles in this past week, which is decent. The miles weren’t all fun, but as anyone who is basically starting over will tell you, it takes time. I’m hoping that by the end of the month, I’ll be consistently running and feeling good after those runs. My long run yesterday felt pretty fantastic, even if I got stuck in the rain for the last two miles and had to drop my pace.

Now – I am wearing my ankle brace on the foot with PF and constantly stretching so I can make sure that I stay loose and limber as I have learned that tight muscles can mean injuries. I have to do cross training today so I think that will be some deep yoga. My tattoo is almost fully healed so I am hoping that by the end of this week I can start taking baths again! I miss my Epsom salt baths.

SUBTITLE (1)

 

I haven’t done the best job tracking my food on MyFitnessPal, but I am doing better with my diet. In fact, I dropped 1 pound this week according to this morning’s weigh in. I’m excited to see that! I’m hoping to see a consistent drop in weight as I continue to up my mileage and eliminate the junk food from my diet. Going slow and making small changes, are the best way to do it. I’ve done the drastic change in food, and it’s always a failure for me. Slow and patient, simple changes are the best way to get the weight off and keep it off.

Oh! There were a lot of people racing this weekend, including those who signed up for the Best Damn Race – Jacksonville. I wish I was able to go out there and run with you. Next year, I will be out there. This year, however, I did the virtual 10k. Also – mad props to those who ran the Disney races this weekend. I had a friend, George, who did a great job running his first back to back races (5k/10k) for his new charity Running 4 Greyhounds. If you get a chance and have a soft spot for dogs, check out his page.

Make it a great week everyone!

4 thoughts on “Week Two: Gate River Run Training begins!

    • jljohnson says:

      I don’t know if we are or not, but I’ll stalk you and see if I can find you! 🙂

      I REALLY want to do the Wine and Dine. I’m considering it for this year if I can swing it. There are a lot of changes coming my way this year, so I’m taking it a day at a time 🙂

  1. hellyontherun says:

    good to hear your surgery was a success! I had awful, awful migraines this past weekend that made me google “When is a headache serious?” because I was freaking out about how much they hurt. Today it’s more of a lingering pain and this is all new to me so I have no idea what’s going on.
    Awesome you were able to get decent mileage in despite all of you’ve been through lately!

Leave a Reply

