Making Plans for 2015

Untitled design

The new year is upon us and now is the time to look at how to make this something better than the last. Resolutions are part of the process, and while I firmly believe in making plans for the new year, I don’t believe in resolutions. They are easier to break, and seem concrete in ways that are almost unachieveable.

Think about it…who do you know that actually reached a resolution?

Instead, I believe in goals. Goals are flexible; they fit in with real life and understand that it’s a marathon, not a sprint. (see what I did there?)

Brian and I were talking about goals and resolutions this morning and he made a good point. The more specific the goal the more likely you are to keep them and make them. Saying things like “I’m going to lose weight” is not enough. You have to set yourself a more specific goal (like lose 30 lbs) and create a plan to stick to in order to make it happen.

That made me rethink some of the goals I had put together. I don’t want to give up half way through. I also made two specific lists of goals: One for fitness related goals and one for non-fitness related goals. That way I can work on my running goals as well as making the necessary changes that will make this year better than last year. So here are my goals:

2015

2015 Goals: Fitness
* Stick to all training plans – EVEN SUMMER RUNNING!
* 1:45 Gate River Run 15K (Training begins Monday!)
* Re-attempt the full marathon – December 2015, Jax Bank Marathon
* 35 races in 2015 – Virtual counts!
* 160 lbs by summer!
* Stretch more, meditate daily.
* More cooking, or attempting to cook anyway
* Meal Prep every Sunday. Need to eat healthier!

My training program for the Gate River Run starts on Monday. And it’s gonna be intense. It will be a great kick start to the year for making sure I get in the habit of running almost every day, and really ticking off time so I can make my goal of a 1:45 race. Also, healthy eating and consistent training will help me get down to 160 by May. The rest will come naturally.

2015 Goals: Not Fitness Related
* Read a book a month
* Blog schedule! Make one and stick to it
* Journal everyday, even if it’s a short entry.
* 5 tattoos this year (my first will be tomorrow!)
* Put the phone down

These sound simple, but they mean so much to me. After spending most of 2014 in chaos and paranoia, I really want to buckle down and live in the now. I miss blogging more regularly, and reading books, and writing. I have been so wrapped up in my phone and work that I have been missing a lot. I’m hoping to rediscover that girl who laughed easier and ran freely. I started making changes in early December, but the road is long and I’m more than capable of making 2015 my year.

What are your goals for 2015? 

One thought on “Making Plans for 2015

  1. Sabrina Alexandra says:

    I am not doing resolutions, or even year long goals. They are overwhelming and I forget about them before the year has a chance to get started. This year I went with mantras/ideas/objectives.

    Happy 2015 to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

