12 Little Random Facts!

So there seems to be a lot of new faces around here. Hello new faces! Welcome to the world of Idiot Runner Girl!

And hello loyal readers! Glad you are sticking through the drama that is a girl finding her way to running and all that fun stuff.

Since I haven’t done one of these in a while, I figured today I can share 20 little random facts about myself. THEN – you can do it about YOURSELF in the comments!

Sound like fun? Good. πŸ™‚ Let’s get started.

1. I’m Jamie. Also known as Idiot Runner Girl. Also known as that crazy girl who runs all her races in tutus. I live in Jacksonville, Florida.

2. Speaking of tutus, I have about 10 of them hanging up in my guest room closet. Some of them need to be retired and remade, to be honest. They get beaten up a lot on my races. But I won’t do that until I have the time to sit around and remake them. Those things take a few hours to make.

run

3. I like PowerBar gels the best. Their texture is great for a mid-run pick me up and their flavors are pretty good. I will – however – steal all of your peppermint Gu. Just saying.

4. Fall is my favorite season. I love the cooler weather (well, as cool as you can get in Florida) and I love everything that goes with fall. Pumpkin everything, changing of the leaves, cool breezes, mulled wine and cider, amazing apple dishes… it’s my favorite.

5. I work on Saturday mornings which makes doing races really hard. I also don’t get a lot of Saturdays off. So my usual race schedule of 15-20 races a year has dropped significantly. It’s a major bummer for me. But I’m hoping to still be able to get my 35 races next year for my 35th birthday.

I'm mad. I lost these awesome pink sunglasses.

I’m mad. I lost these awesome pink sunglasses.

6. I like Gatorade. My favorite flavor is fruit punch. No, I’m not a Gator fan. (random fact: Gatorade is actually a product of the ingenuity of the University of Florida)

7. I used to do body pump 3x a week. I miss it dearly, but a gym membership right now just isn’t in the cards. I’m hoping that once I have a major bill paid off December 2015, I can invest in that and get back into it. But for now, I’m just trying to get back in the habit for serious half training.

8. I’m a writer at heart, and it frustrates me that I don’t have the time to dedicate to it like I used to. I understand that it’s part of growing up and being an adult, but sometimes I look at other bloggers/writers who are able to knock out all kinds of stuff with all the responsibilities I have and more and I just wonder “how in the hell did they do all of that?!” I’m working on getting back into a groove.

IMG_6620

9. I’m a creature of habit. Once it becomes habit, it’s just something I do. When I fall out of habit of something, it’s usually because I have something shaken up and things have changed. But once I am doing something consistently, I do it. I eat a Greek yogurt every day because it’s habit. I have one cup of coffee every day because it’s habit. I check in with the Dreamboat at about 3pm every day because it’s habit. I just do it. It’s part of my daily routine. Habits are weird.

10. I have mixed feelings on “runner swag.” I get most of my gear from Target. They carry the Champion brand that I love. Some of my tops are also from Old Navy, because I like how those bubble shirts look on me. I have a bunch of Balega socks, because they don’t give me blisters, and I get Mizuno shoes. I own a runner’s belt (for races) and a hand held water bottle (I run in Florida. Today, with the heat index, it’s 105 degrees outside) but all that other stuff? I don’t own it. I don’t own a running skirt, or calf sleeves or a fancy watch or any of that stuff. Part of me wants to get a watch, but the other stuff isn’t a necessity, IMO. But I’m in the minority in that opinion. πŸ™‚

10171833_476294555805923_1950297971_n

11. I’m a complete music whore. And my music obsession has gotten a lot cheaper thanks to internet radio and Spotify. I have a “Shut Up and Run” playlist on my Spotify that I’m constantly changing with new and fun music for my running. In fact, I have a ton of playlists on Spotify. And a ton of stations on Pandora. And I own almost 15 gigs of music. And over 300 CDs. There is easily 50 in my car right now. I need music in my life. I want my life to have a soundtrack. πŸ™‚

12. The half marathon is my favorite distance. I feel like it’s the right amount of miles to be doable in a reasonable time that won’t take up your entire day, but still a good tough challenge. My goal time is still 2:30 for a half. Right now, I’m at 2:48 I believe. With some serious training and focus, I am hoping to get to 2:30 by end of the year while running the Jax Bank Half.

IMG_2514

1977268_476294822472563_739632761_n

10376830_522559451179433_4325989496087474088_n

IMG_0502

Okay!! Your turn! 12 things about you! In the comments. GO!

3 thoughts on “12 Little Random Facts!

  1. Ruth Sheldon says:

    1. I am a Christian. I accepted Christ into my life when I was 3 first and then I rededicated my life to him when I was 8. Each of my girls were given a psalm when they were born and I recite it to them and say a prayer with them before I put them to bed.
    2. My name is Ruth-Ann, I was named for a friend of my mom’s and she thought “Ruth” just wasn’t enough so I got ‘Ann’ tacked on. It made me feel like a walton for a while, so I went by just Ruth with the exception of the semester in high school when I tried to go by my middle name Bonnie until my friends started singing “My bonnie lies over the ocean.” then it got real old real fast.
    3. I have ADD. I was diagnosed with it in junior high and it has stuck with me. I’ve learned tricks and tips on how to deal with it and I’ve learned it is incredible over-diagnosed. One of my daughters has it for sure, the other one does not. I’m grateful for her normality.
    4. I used to Collect teddy-bears. I had over 300 of them. when I went to college they were donated to the fire station and I still occasionally get pictures of kids after a fire holding my bears. I’m glad they have something when they’ve lost everything.
    5. I hate Cancer. like no joke. I’ve already lost my mom and aunt to different cancers. my sister has it and hubby’s uncle and grandfather have various cancers. I hate them so much. It makes my stomach ache thinking about them.
    6. I crochet. It’s becoming ridiculous. I have two expensive hobbies. something has to be done.
    7. I’m a stay at home mom. I have 2 adorable girls who drive me crazy, but I love them and couldn’t imagine my life without either of them.
    8. We started an accidental Christmas tradition. my girls each get a penguin (picture or stuffed animal or ornament.) I don’t know how it started, but it did and now we have 4 of them with more coming each Christmas.
    9. I am only scared of 2 things, Heights and Crickets. I have no idea why I’m scared of Crickets but if I see one, my fear of heights goes right out the window. I once spent 4 hours cornered on a couch because a Cricket came into my living room.
    10. I am allergic to Aloe. I found out the worst way possible: sunburn. I’ve passed the allergy onto both my girls. I’m super careful now that they don’t get too much sun.
    11. I love fall, mostly for halloween and the colors but in general it’s an amazing time of year. Pumpkin pie and apple cider everything! *perma smile*
    12. I’m new to the running game. I used to take a long time and mostly walk, but now I can run/walk a 18-19 minute mile which is pretty good for a newb. I love getting inspired and encouraged to run! I look forward to runnig in a tutu but I haven’t yet. I have ideas for what to wear and what to dress up as when I run next. I’m very excited πŸ™‚

  2. Jason says:

    Hi! Eek, 12 things?!
    1) I’m 34.
    2) I’m an attorney.
    3) I like to run πŸ™‚
    4) I live in New York (but not the city)
    5) I can hold my breath for almost three minutes.
    6) I’m a vegetarian.
    7) I love beer.
    8) I have one sister.
    9) I enjoy reading.
    10) My favorite reality TV show is Big Brother.
    11) I’m a Yankees fan.
    12) My favorite non-reality TV show is Parks and Rec.
    Phew!

Leave a Reply

