Summer Running: I’m over it!

Is it fall yet? I swear every time I try to run outside it’s hot as hell and humid as all get out. Trying to inhale in the stuffy, muggy air is like trying to claw your way through a vat of jello. Not even a half of a mile into the run, I am drenched in sweat and feeling sticky. By the time I am dome with three miles, my brain is going “Seriously, are we done yet?”

Oh, Summer Running – I loathe thee.

It's hot as hell at 6am, but it sure is pretty sometimes.

It’s hot as hell at 6am, but it sure is pretty sometimes.

BUT – I want to believe that all this summer running will have a real positive impact for fall running and my race season. I thrive when it’s cooler outside and not 112 degrees in the shade, and running in this heat might teach me a thing or two. Right now, all it’s teaching me is a lesson in hydration and determination.

I am for sure signed up for the Space Coast Half on Thanksgiving Weekend. I will be signing up for the Thanksgiving Day Half Marathon here in Jacksonville, as well as the Jax Bank Half Marathon in December. The Tour de Pain is next weekend, and it’s still summer running, but I’ll take it.

I need to register for the half marathon in San Antonio at the end of August, but I had to put a battery in my car instead, so maybe next paycheck. Races are so expensive! I’m lucky to be able to have half of my races comp’d since I work at a tv station that promotes them. But it still costs a pretty penny to get them all done.

Speaking of cost – I need new shoes! My current pair of Mizuno Wave Inspire 10s are starting to wear very thin, and I’m feeling every step in my knees and IT bands, so it’s well past time. Amazon has them for $103, so I might splurge and get them. A few places in town has them in stock now, but they charge a bit more and since I’m on a tight budget, Amazon might be the way to go.

So back to summer running: I never get how people can run 8 minute miles or faster in this kind of heat. I’m lucky if I can get 13 minute miles. My goal every run is to have an average pace LESS than 13 minutes. I tell myself that if I can do that, then I know come the fall when it’s cooler, my time can be closer to the 12 minute mile I want to be at by the end of the year. (realistically, I’d like to be closer to my 11:30 average I was pre-surgery, but hey – I’m working on it)

Tell me, am I the only one who is over the heat and humidity, and is ready for the fall? I can almost taste it – pumpkin everything, hot mulled cider, mulled wine, apple cobbler with oatmeal… not to mention cooler temperatures. I’m ready for it. SO ready for it.

2 thoughts on “Summer Running: I’m over it!

  1. littlemoreeachday says:

    I had that conversation with myself over and over again this morning as I slogged through 6 sweaty slow humid miles – this will pay off in the fall. It will feel easier and get faster. It has to, right? šŸ™‚

  2. Jennifer LE (@runningwithpugs) says:

    I’m going to be honest: I have been kicking butt and taking names this summer, in spite of the heat and humidity. I’m as stunned as anyone else, but for some reason, I am functioning really well. I guess we will see what my final times are at Tour De Pain next weekend. I’m pretty excited for it.

    I just got a new pair of Wave Inspire 10s, to cycle in with my older pair. I think this will be the last new pair before the marathon, but we shall see. I am resisting the urge to break them in for a few more weeks, but it’s hard.

    I will be racing Space Coast, but I also have to run Marine Corps so that I can have a (hopefully) decent proof of time for a corral placement at the WDW Marathon. I’m going to need all the luck I can get.

Leave a Reply

