It’s A Food Thing: Random Food For Thought

Random food thoughts. Unedited and ready for some laughter, because I know you’ll laugh with me. Or at me. Either will work, really. Ready??

Fruits Vegetables Meat Fish Food

 

Why do veggies make you so GASSY?? I’ve been eating salads or carrots and hummus for lunch and I feel like all I do afterward is FART. I’m so bloated after and it’s annoying as all get out. Suddenly my belly is full and my comfy jeans get snug and I’m all “WTF just happened? All I ate was a carrot!?” and I’m miserable. Thankfully, there are things out there that help fight the bloating. But, man. I wish veggies didn’t do that.

Speaking of hummus – YUM. Publix brand Kalamata Olive hummus makes mouths happy. It’s just salty enough to be fantastic, and since I like it just chilled it goes perfect in my lunch box. Anything with kalamata olives in it makes Jamie a happy girl.

While randomly cleaning out a cabinet to find room for stuff, I discovered that I had purchased 12 little packets of Kool Aid. I’m excited. I had forgotten all about them, and since I make it with less sugar than the packet asks for, it’s a great alternative to some of the high calorie drinks out there. I made a giant pitcher with one of the grape packets and it’s almost gone already. Dreamboat hates grape, so I need to make a different flavor next (I bought fruit punch and cherry as well) so I see more Kool Aid in our future.

Clif Bars – the white chocolate macadamia nut is becoming my breakfast go to. I miss my waffles, though. I’m hoping starting this week I can go back to my normal habits now that my family is back in town and I’m done house sitting.

My sweet tooth is craving all the ice cream. It’s because it’s summer. Which usually is okay, but since it’s so hot outside, I’m trying to convince my sweet tooth it wants popsicles instead. Dairy allergies already make it hard to handle, but doing it in the heat is worse.

Dunkin Iced Coffee. Large, Mocha Swirl. Cream. Unless it’s 2:30am, then it’s all the sugar too. I have a long shift to get through. It’s been my go to morning drink. I’m sure I could make the same thing at home using creamer and ice cubes, but there is something about purchasing it that I am really enjoying right this moment. A large coffee (sans sugar, but with cream) is only 140 cals. I’m there.

I’m obsessed with fruit right now. Strawberries, peaches, raspberries, apples, melon… I could go on. I buy so much fruit and it’s usually gone before the end of my week. I’ve been pairing most of them with vanilla Greek yogurt as a sweet treat, or part of my lunch. I love summer fruit!

what’s your favorite food to eat this summer? tell me in the comments!

 

8 thoughts on “It’s A Food Thing: Random Food For Thought

  1. Georgia says:

    I’m having the gas / bloating issue too with eating raw veggies… what are you using to help? I hate eating healthy and counting carbs and then feeling 2x larger than before I ate.

  2. d20girl says:

    I’m pretty obsessed with fresh picked blueberries at the moment. I think blueberry season is just ending now here and sadly I cannot stand blueberries from the grocery store. And dove dark chocolate, but that’s a year round favorite.

Leave a Reply

