March, in like a lion….

While sitting at work yesterday morning missing the Ortega River Run AGAIN, I realized something kind of significant and kind of not…. HOLY CRAP, IT’S MARCH! When the hell did THAT happen?

Oh, wait. I remember. It ALWAYS happens after February. The fact that I lost two weeks of my life and of February to the Michael Dunn trial and work obligations is not a reason to forget the normal functions of how calendars work. But I seriously didn’t realize it was March until I started my work day (morning? night?) and realized that I had to change 02 to 03 for all of my documents at work.

And then I realized – another month has gone by, and another round of goals that hasn’t exactly been met. Let’s take a look, shall we?

My running plan? Mostly met. With the exception of a handful of weekday runs that I was too exhausted to get up for, and a long run, I pretty much hit every run I planned to do. The distance may have not always been spot on, but I got most of the runs in, even in the crazy two weeks of hell covering the Michael Dunn trial.

FYI – For those who don’t know, the Michael Dunn trial is basically the Zimmerman trial for Jacksonville. Here is the link for the whole story on WJXT’s website. But the gist of it all for us news people was two weeks chaos and rapidly changing schedules. My hours changed drastically, and once we went into verdict watch I didn’t know when I’d need to be in the next day until the jury ended for the day, however late THAT ended up being. As a news person: I loved every moment covering the trial. It was fun and different from a behind the scenes stand point, even with all the chaos and tension involved. But as a runner? The idea of getting up at 4:45 and running by 5:30am was just not a priority when I didn’t get home till late. Most of those two weeks I was in bed no later than 9pm and was still exhausted.

That being said, I’m pretty proud of myself for making it up and making it out there to run when I could. It was slow and short, but it was something.

My diet? Not so great. For two weeks I lived on “Newsroom Food” which basically was whatever we could get our hands on to eat while at our desks, which made eating things like a salad hard to do. I lived on newsroom pizza, subs, bagels, doughnuts and lots and lots of Coke. If you follow me on Instagram then you saw my numerous meals. While I brought healthy snacks with me and tried to stick to my healthier, Gluten Free diet… Let’s be real. Sometimes the stress of the situation just means eat the damn doughnut.

But once the trial was over, I slowly made my way back to my normal: healthier food, gluten free food, and more miles. Slow but steady as always. And by the very last few days of the month, I felt more like myself. My weight loss plan didn’t happen, I didn’t stick to the squats/plank again (I mean really, it’s stupidly simple, why do I keep failing at that!?) but overall I’m okay with how the high stress month went.

Now, for March – I have a lot of races going on that will keep me on my running plan. The Gate River Run is March 15, the St. Patty’s Day 1ok is March 23 and the Tour de Pain: Extreme is the last weekend of March (and days after my birthday!) By the way – the extreme is a 5k, a 10k, and a half in 24 hours. It’s going to be awesome. My plan is short runs during the week, no more than 5 miles at a clip. Most of the miles will be before dawn miles, and I’m alternating speed work and bridges on Wednesdays.

Diet? Simply continue gluten free and purge the yuck outta me. I like feeling not bloated and uncomfortable, and now so many of my favorite grab and go restaurants have awesome GF options for those days I just don’t have the time or patience to make my lunch. I’ve been cutting out the soda and leaving it to weekends (or if I do drink it during the week, just one) and I’ve rediscovered my MiO drinks. SO GOOD. Also plan to keep eating breakfast. It seems to be helping some.

Other than that, it’s really focus and buckle down this month. With everything that I have planned, it’s easy to see that I could hurt myself if I am not careful. Taking the time to stretch when I feel tight, take hot baths when I feel super achy and getting the necessary hours of sleep I need (at least 6 hours) I should be able to rock my birthday month.

What’s your March Madness looking like? Tell me what races you are doing in the comments!! 🙂

2 thoughts on “March, in like a lion….

  1. Richard says:

    I started running in July of 2013. I have run 4 or five 5k’s. I am following a training plan from Runner World SmartCoach to run my first 10K on March 29th in the Springtime Tallahassee festival.Today it had me do a long slow run. I ran 8 miles at an average pace of 10:36.

  2. Amy Hannon says:

    Hi! Just wondering how you are doing after your migraine surgery. I have had migraines for over 20 years and I too am a runner.

Leave a Reply

