Sometimes, Life gets in the way

There are a lot of people out there that prop themselves up for being able to work out regardless of what is going on in their lives. I know a few of them myself; they are the people who will wake up at at 4am to get a run in, or aren’t afraid to go running at midnight when they are finally free for a moment. Okay, I used to be the midnight runner… But still. They are out there and sometimes, I can be one of them.

But lately, I can’t say that I am. Sometimes, life just gets in the way.

On Tuesday, someone walked up to a TSA agent at Jacksonville International Airport and said they had a bomb. The airport went on shut down, and tips started to come into the station via Twitter. I stood up and said something to one manager. We started to make calls, and then more tweets came in. Then posts on Facebook. The airport was being evacuated. JSO, Bomb Squad techs, FBI and TSA were all on high alert, and swarmed the airport. You can read the rest of the report here on News4Jax. (Mind you, this is in addition to the government shut down)

Oh. And they brought in subs. I was almost 3/4 of my way through one from starvation before I realized that I was eating bread. Oops. But in the midst of the chaos of the breaking news, I didn’t care. I needed a meal.

I ended up working a 14.5 hour day, and got home at about midnight. My night of Insanity was brushed off and I curled up in bed. The next day, at 8:30am, I was walking out of my condo without running and on my way to Dunkin Donuts to grab coffee before going in to work. It was another long day with more information on the craziness at the airport having been announced an hour before I walked in.

“Need me to take over Social Media?” I asked Crystal, the morning assignment desk manager. She looked relieved to see me so I took that as a yes. For the next almost 10 hours, I worked on keeping our followers informed and up to date with the latest information. During both Tuesday and Wednesday, the sharpest pains were shooting along the nerve. It felt like someone was stabbing me with a sharp pin repeatedly. I expected this, as been warned by my doctor that this is what it feels like when the nerve heals itself. He told me it could be 6 to 9 months before it’s all healed appropriately. Add to that the jerk faces on Facebook and Twitter making cruel, hateful, mean, and inappropriate comments (and a snarky remark from someone I thought was my friend in the middle of a conversation about Facebook Analytics) and I came home grouchy, exhausted and fed up. The last thing I wanted to do was go run or do Insanity.

So instead, I kissed Dreamboat hello, changed into PJs and sat down on the recliner and…well, pouted.

“At least you are on vacation now,” Dreamboat said as he got up to check the tilapia that he was making. Thank God he put it in the oven. I was going to fake fry it, but at that point I was just happy that someone else picked up the job of making dinner. I was one snarky comment away from snapping or bursting into tears. We spent the evening eating fish, corn and green beans, drinking red wine, and watching Cutthroat Kitchen with Alton Brown. Then Chopped. Then The Daily Show.

Part of me feels bad for not working out like I said I would, but the bigger part of me knows that it would have been smarter to wait. I wasn’t in the right mindset to go out and run. Some cases of the blues are cured by a good sweat fest, and I have done that. But the past two days were not just a case of the blues. It was frustration with people, annoyance and exhaustion. So I wrote it off.

I am going to make up the workouts I missed. I’ll write yesterday off as a rest day and push my Insanity days ahead a bit (I had two rest days written in for the first week to cover for some odd scheduling) and I plan on adding a few additional runs in. Another two miler tonight, and maybe tomorrow – then bumping it up to three for short runs, 5 or 6 for longer ones.

My point is this – in some circumstances, you can get your workout in despite the chaos. A case of the blues, a bad day, things like that are easily remedied with a quick run or a good sweat fest on the bike or a basketball game. But there are some things – like crazy breaking news that shuts down an airport and gets you on CNN, The Today Show AND Buzzfeed – that clearly says “working out is not a priority. getting information to the masses is” and you can blow it off. Just remember to make up the work later.

Now if you will excuse me – this girl needs to get an Insanity video in before Dreamboat walks in and finds out she spent $20 at LUSH today on a new hair conditioner. I promise to make it last at least a month and a half baby!! 🙂

One thought on “Sometimes, Life gets in the way

  1. Jennifer LE (@runningwithpugs) says:

    :hug: First of all, that was absolutely scary and awful. I’m glad everything is resolved, but it does leave an unsettled feeling in the pit of my stomach 😦

    Secondly, you can’t get down on yourself for things like this. Workouts and exercise are supposed to make you feel better, keep you strong and healthy. They’re not supposed to cause you stress or unhappiness.

    You had a busy, stressful couple of days. Be kind to yourself.

Leave a Reply

