It’s A Food Thing: Fall means PUMPKIN!!

It’s no secret: Fall is my favorite season. The weather starts to turn cooler (everywhere but Florida) and the delicious fall treats start to come out. Delicious pumpkin treats, salted caramel treats, apple cider treats, all of them. And I scarf them up like it’s nobodies business because I usually can only indulge in the Autumn deliciousness for a limited time unless I stock up and throw it in the freezer.

So when Dunkin Donuts invited me to a tasting of their new pumpkin treats, I jumped at the chance. Are you kidding? Pumpkin is my thing. Of course, because I was recovering from being sick all weekend, I showed up a little bit late. The party had already started, but the tasting hadn’t so I slipped in, sat in the one empty chair up front and listed as they went over a lot of the new delicious items on the fall menu. The table was decorated for fall with doughnuts all Halloween’ed out and I thought it was adorable. Halloween is one of my favorite holidays so of course I was geeking out a little bit.

Angus Steak Big N' ToastedThey started to talk about their new sandwich, the Angus Steak Big N Toasted. Here’s what their press release said about it:

For guests seeking a satisfying breakfast on the go that is larger and heartier than the typical breakfast sandwich, the Angus Steak Big N’ Toasted sandwich features two eggs, juicy Angus steak and a slice of American cheese, packed between two thick slices of Texas Toast.

Giant, it was. Way more than I would eat for breakfast, but it could be used as a lunch sandwich if you wanted to grab it. At 530 calories and 26 grams of protein, it’s a decent sized sandwich for a monster appetite. I highly recommend it for those of you who are getting up and running 10 plus miles before the break of dawn, but for the rest of us – getting one and splitting it will be a perfect breakfast. Pumpkin White Chocolate Latte

Then we tasted their new coffees. Which makes me extremely happy because I have become a coffee girl. At least one cup every day, maybe two or three. So when pumpkin season started, I was at Starbucks buying them as often as I could. Can Dunkin compare to Starbucks? Absolutely.

When we tasted their Pumpkin White Chocolate, I was blown away. This thing tasted AMAZING: enough pumpkin to treat you, not overly sweet, and here and it left me wanting MORE. I actually got a second, medium sized cup of the delicious stuff afterward. Here’s the best part: If you get a medium Pumpkin White Chocolate with skim milk it’s only 280 calories, if you get the medium Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks it’s 330 calories. Most likely an unfair comparison because I couldn’t find the calorie count for the drink with skim milk… but still. It tasted better and left me completely satisfied. I highly recommend it!

Pumpkin Pie donut

The rest of the presentation was filled with their other pumpkin products: Pumpkin Donut and MUNCHKINS, the Pumpkin Muffin and their new Pumpkin Bagel and Pumpkin Pie Donut. Being that I am trying to eat gluten-free, I did a small taste of all of them, and they were delicious… but not gluten free. For the record: I highly recommend the Pumpkin Pie Donut, with a cup of black coffee. That thing is super sweet and delicious, and they better make one that is GF asap. I also adored the pumpkin bagel, but being a Jewish girl… it’s kind of in my blood. 😉

Calories for these treats are pretty reasonable for sweet treats. The pumpkin donut is at 360 calories with the pumpkin pie donut is a little higher (380 calories) but if you plan your day right and eat healthy the other 90% of the time, this treat is a perfect choice. That’s why the munchkins are such a great idea. One pumpkin munchkin is only 60 calories! You can have two with a cup of their Pumpkin coffee and still be reasonable! How exciting is that!?

pumpkin bagel

I left there with my tummy full of pumpkin deliciousness and plans to re-route my way to work so I could swing by DD on the way in to grab another one of those Pumpkin White Chocolate coffees. The best part is most of the DD’s around me have drive thru’s and are easily accessible. PLUS – they have k-cups ready for purchase, which makes me and my Kurig really happy (but I also have one of those filters that you can put your own coffee in… so either way, SCORE!)

This might sound a little like I’m promoting Dunkin because they had me taste test a few of their items, and I’d be lying if I said that didn’t help this post out. But I don’t write about things I don’t think my readers would be into. And who doesn’t love a chance to get their pumpkin favorites somewhere a little bit cheaper, with a few less calories, and a lot more smiles? Happy Pumpkin Season

And seriously, I’m swinging by on my way home to get a coffee. That thing was amazing, and I need more.

TELL ME: What’s your favorite fall treat?

Leave a Reply

