Update On Life – IRG has been busy!

Today was my pre-op for the migraine surgery, and boy, they don’t mess around at St. Vincent’s Hospital. Everything is detailed and written down and kept in a file for when they are going to come in and cut you open and dig around inside. I was freaked out and excited all at the same time. It doesn’t help that my head has been killing me for days now.

They did a full history, and then did some blood work. Everything seems to be ready to go. For now, I just need to stay healthy. No fevers, no colds, no infections. I get my stitches out tomorrow and the incision from Felix the Alien Cyst needs to be mostly healed by the time we go in for surgery. I can’t walk in wearing any jewelry, no make up, glasses and comfortable clothes. I’ll be put in a hospital gown and set up with an IV pretty much as soon as I get there.

Dreamboat and my mom are going to be there, along side the camera crew who will be taping the surgery. Being that it’s Melanie and Joe is comforting, but I want to make sure I have time with Brian before wheeled away. I want to get that last minute pep talk and positive vibe thing going.

I’m happy it is happening, and am ready for it to be over all at the same time. It’s going to finally be a true release of pain.

IN OTHER NEWS – Dad was rushed to the hospital on Monday for congestive heart failure. It sucks miserably, but for my family this is nothing new to us. He had his first known heart attack when I was a sophomore in high school and has been in and out of hospitals since then. He had the mind to dirve to his cardiologist, but couldn’t get into the office, and called me. I was able to get in touch with the office to get him the help he needed, but then I rushed over there and after getting him stable, we got him to the hospital.

Right now, the doctor said that he needs to really stick to the low sodium, low fat diet and ditch the alcohol. They are going to Vegas in a few short weeks, and right now that trip is in jeopardy. Mom is doing well and is trying to be as calm as possible. She had neck surgery last month and is still recovering. She said she has already gotten lots of benefits from the surgery, with feeling coming back to places she was once numb. So yay for Mom!

ALSO – I miss running. A lot. I get  my stitches out tomorrow, and am planning to go downtown and run the bridges for the first time in two weeks. The excitement running through me at this point is ridiculous. But I have 12 days to get running in before I have to not run again, so it’d be nice to try and shed maybe a pound or two before I’m laid up again. I’m seriously thinking about getting a coach for when I get back into the swing of things as well. I’m not sure how I can make that work, but I feel like trying to do this as a come back without any real help is a bad idea. I’m looking into the idea: either a running coach or a Beach Body coach…

All in all, a chaotic few days. Hopefully things will get better and I’ll have some more fun things to tell you about! 🙂

Leave a Reply

