It’s A Food Thing: Breaking Up Is Hard

Okay, I said I was going to do it, and I totally meant to do it…but guess what? I can’t. I just can’t. It’s too much work, and I have too much going on, and even with little reminders I have left around for myself I just don’t remember and I don’t get it done.

Sorry, My Fitness Pal. It isn’t you, it’s me.I have the app on my phone and a short cut on my favorites and I still don’t remember to log my food. Why? For the same reason I don’t always remember to log my  miles into my DailyMile. Because I have a million and twelve things going on in my head and logging the things I ate is NOT high on the priority list. It just isn’t!

Plus – I get really obsessive. Ask Dreamboat. It’s kind of scary how obsessive I get about numbers. When I’m eating his M&Ms, I separate them into their own colors and then make it so that I have an equal amount of each color. I weigh myself every week and scrutinize even the slightest half pound gain or loss. I nit pick every calorie I eat, burn and drink. (yes, even my obsession with Vanilla Coke is part of this) I don’t want to be so obsessive about all of this, and that plus just being too busy to remember to get all of that down…well. It’s over. I’m deleting the app from my phone and letting it go. It’s almost kind of refreshing to get rid of the weight that is bogging me down.

I’m not dissing the app at all. If you are the kind of person who absolutely needs to know how much you are eating, then by all means: carry on. I have friends who are doing weight watchers and are getting great results from it because they are finally watching what they are eating. Same goes for the calorie app. For me, I just don’t have the energy to add one more thing to a long list of stuff that I’m just not remembering to do anyway.

And really, I eat about 80 percent healthy on the usual. I eat a ton of fruits and veggies, I’m on week three of eliminating (known) gluten from my diet, and when I do go all out, I do it because it’s a treat. We don’t keep sweets in the house, no soda is in our pantry, and everything is pretty much made from scratch so there isn’t a lot of processed foods either. It took a long time to get to this point, and it’s great…even though sometimes you want a giant mint flavored Blizzard (I know you are reading this, Dreamboat!!) if you don’t have it in the house, you won’t over eat it.

So this is  my farewell to MFP – it’s been a good run, and I appreciate the time we spent together… I hope you find someone who loves you for exactly what you are, even if I couldn’t because I was too busy doing other things. 😀

Leave a Reply

