It’s A Food Thing: Time to focus!

The cruise is in late October, and I want to be at least 20 lbs lighter by then. The fitness side of things is the easy part for me. The diet, well…if you have been reading this long enough, you’ll know just how frustratingly complicated my diet life can be.

Especially since I hate the word “diet” to begin with.

Fully embracing the gluten-free lifestyle, ditching the junk food and keeping fresher, better foods in the pantry and fridge, and doing what needs to be done despite the fact that I don’t want any of it…It’s a struggle, but it will be worth it in the long run.

And it all starts now.

Usually, I do a pretty decent job eating healthy. I do have a sweet tooth though, and I love soda. Cutting back on both soda and sugary sweets will help me drop the pounds without a problem. I can substitute fresh fruit and yogurt for the sweets, and I have been drinking MiO, tea and Kool Aid instead of sodas. I cut the sugar in the tea and Kool Aid by half and it’s still just as good. A squeeze of fresh lime and it’s even better.

Dropping the gluten has been easier than I thought. Lots of rice options are out there, and I love lettuce wraps. I do have some Udi’s and Glutino stuff, like hamburger buns and crackers at my house. They don’t taste as good as the fully loaded kind, but that doesn’t stop me from using them. I do need to get some GF Pizza Crusts as well. Those were really good and really dependable for different recipes.

I’ve been wanting to branch out and try new things with our meats. For example, last night I used butter flavored olive oil, basil and some fresh lemon juice on our tilapia filets and it came out really good. I want to get more fresh fish so we can doctor it up that way more often. We have burgers in our freezer (of course we do. Dreamboat works for Bubba Burger) but I eat them plain, no bun. We also have some processed chicken (nuggets, tenders, and patties) but those are more for him. And I have a thing for meatballs, with some tomato sauce and a little bit of cheese. Great protein. Oh! And I adore hard boiled eggs! Two eggs a day and we’re good! 🙂

I’ve gotten my hands on some lean protein powder, and I need to start working it into my diet. It’s chocolate powder and I was thinking of including it in pudding and a scoop in my yogurt, along with smoothies and shakes. I want to get some vanilla powder as well so I can have more variety. It tastes great mixed in with a banana, peanut butter, chocolate soy milk, and some ice cubes. (I like mine really cold, so I usually make it, throw it in the freezer, and then go take a shower)

I’ve been pinning lots of good smoothie ideas, meal ideas and snack ideas on Pinterest. I am hoping to start making some of them a regular thing in my menus. I usually spend part of Sunday and Monday cooking stuff up for grab and goes…but sometimes you get busy.

Do you pre-plan your meals? How do you do it? Do you cook in advance? What are some of the things you do?

3 thoughts on “It’s A Food Thing: Time to focus!

  1. Victoria says:

    I use MyFitnessPal too (vmackasey if you want a friend on it) and it works great. I have a basic meal plan list on my fridge that I use to keep me slightly organized and it helps when my husband gets home and I’m out because he knows what to start. I, however, need to start eating better myself. I have lots of improvements to make, but this is the biggest.

  2. runswithpugs says:

    I’m a pretty awful meal planner, and I rarely precook because I hate leftovers. at the beginning of the week, I tend to make a general plan in my head, and then I hit the grocery store for the goods. At least once a week, I will try a new recipe. That’s about as far as it goes.

Leave a Reply

