Music Makes Me Happy

Unless I am running with a friend – which has been all I have been doing lately – I run with music. It allows me to disappear into the lyrics and before you know it, I am running faster and more comfortably than I had. My mind isn’t focused on how I am trying to breathe or how far I need to go. It just drifts.

I listen to pretty much anything (except Bieber. That kid needs to go away) and I like having a variety of tunes I can run to. On my player right now is rock, rap, hip hop (very different than rap) and pop. I also have alternative and emo, a favorite of mine. I asked my sister to put some new tunes on it in March and now I have some Bieber too. Stupid kid.

Among all the songs I have on my player, I have designated “run” songs where no matter where I am in my run, when that song plays – I GO. Just run. There is a Kiss song, a LMFAO song, a Linkin Park song, and a few Carrie Underwood songs on that list. One of my favorites on that list is “Remember the Name” by Fort Minor. It’s hard to just not gun it when you hear him running through all the numbers!

I know I don’t run nearly as well without my music, unless I am listening to Kat talk my ear off of course. But music makes my running fun an relaxing.

Tell me: what songs make you run? 🙂

20130530-080017.jpg

3 thoughts on “Music Makes Me Happy

  1. Kristy says:

    Oh I have so many… One of my favorites is “Perfect Day” by Hoku – They were playing it at the start of my first marathon as I ran across the starting line, and even since it has been one of my favorites, because any day I can go for a run has to be a Perfect Day, right:) But I will admit, I only listen to music when I train, I don’t when I race anymore. – But like you I have some Carrie Underwood, and even Linkin Park and I agree No Beiber!!!!

  2. CJV says:

    I have a “running” playlist on my Galaxy. I’ll be the first to say that I’m a ‘soundtrack’ kind of person, so most of my mix are soundtracks. My favorite one (right now, anyway) is X-Men First Class film score. AWESOME! Other than soundtracks I’ve got Imagine Dragons’ ‘Radioactive’, Adele’s ‘Set Fire to the Rain’ dubstep remix, and Alex Clare’s ‘Too Close’ just to name a few.

Leave a Reply

