On The Verge…

In the past two weeks, I’ve worked 3 different schedules. I’ve produced and done social media. I’ve worked at my place of employment, maned a bridal show, did the bridesmaid thing and went dress shopping, and attempted to grab some family time for a few hours with my parents. I’m exhausted; worn out and sleepy, both mentally and physically.

In the midst of all of that drama that has kept me from being able to catch up with my readers this past week, and I’m so sorry for that. One of the things that came out of my mouth repeatedly was “I’m doing so much for everyone else that I can’t keep my own stuff going!” and that includes my running.

And the Gate is only two weeks away. With a very specific time goal, I’m worried that I won’t make it, and that I might have a complete blubbery meltdown before it.

I knew what I was getting into when I took this position but it doesn’t help me in dealing with the drama that is television news. It’s not as glamorous as everyone thinks it is, and while I love it to death, I’d give anything for some real consistency so I can really focus on my training.

I may not have been running as much as I want, but I have been lifting just about every morning (legs, arms and back mostly) and I’ve been stretching the calve muscles a lot. I need to start doing some foam rolling to keep from having massive IT problems, which is always my problem. I’ve also been riding the recumbent bike with the resistance jacked up. I work up a pretty good sweat with it.

With the Gate River Run NEXT WEEK (eeeek!!!) I’m stressing making my 1:45 goal time. I haven’t been able to run as much as I want, and that’s making me think I’m going to screw it up, but if I can keep a consistent 11 – 11:30 mile pace I should be close enough.

Then the week after that is the St. Patty’s Day 10k (yes, that’s how it is spelled on the race form)

Then the Yeti Run in Atlanta.

Then the Tour de Pain: Extreme.

4 races in 4 weeks (okay, since the TdP:E is 3 races, it’s 6 races) I’m stressing being stressed at work and not having the time I need/want to get my running in. And it’s not always a time thing. I’m literally exhausted and could easily go to sleep right this second if wanted to. I’m not sure how this all is going to work out but I do know that I’ll be sporting some caffeinated gels during the Gate…especially since I have to work the day before.

And I’m not going to complain about the other stuff going on in my life, because I like being busy as opposed to bored. I just wish I had a few more hours in the day to get shit done (like cleaning my condo, getting my blogs posted, RUNNING a mile or two…or six) but I always prioritize what needs to be done and go from there.

What keeps you busy? How do you make fitness a priority in your busy lifestyle?

One thought on “On The Verge…

  1. Jules (@mymomsawhackjob) says:

    Breathe….. beating yourself up over things you cannot control will only make it worse. Let it go, get your runs in when you can. Make them quality runs. Relax about your time, you might find that you run faster when you are enjoying the run and not stressing over your pace. It will all work out!

Leave a Reply

