Renewing Your Motivation – found mine!

I’m kind of weird. When I decide to do something, like REALLY do something, I end up throwing myself into whatever it is like a light switch has been flipped. When I decided that I wanted to write a book, I sat down and spent a year (or more) and write two of them. When I decided I wanted to learn how to cook better, I started experimenting with different styles of cooking and had a great husband to test it all on, and frozen pizza in case it failed.

When I decided I was going to start running – I woke up one day, laced up my sneakers, put in my ear buds and went. It sucked, and I did horrible, but I did it again the next day, and then the next day, and then the next. Now it’s habit. My motivation to keep up with that kind of dedication waned when my schedule started to get moved around, when I wasn’t signed up for races, when I had no one to run with. I went from running 5 or 6 days a week to 2 days a week, if I was lucky.

After the first of the year, I decided that I was going to push myself back into the habits I once found myself lacking in. I printed out the Hal Higdon intermediate training program for the 15k that I always run (The Gate River Run 15k) and I put it on my fridge and followed it as closely as I could. But even then I found myself having a harder time than usual getting my running shoes on and heading out the door.

Then, something magical happened. My vacation for March got approved. I now have the Saturday for the Gate River Run off! I can race it! AND – I got my week long vacation at the end of March approved, which included the weekend for the Tour de Pain: Extreme! I have races! As quickly as I could, I signed up for the Gate River Run. Then I went and looked at the rest of my weekends in March. The St. Patty’s Day 10k is on a Sunday. Then, on the Saturday starting my vacation to Atlanta to visit my friend Amber, there is a 10 mile Yeti run. AND the very next weekend is the TdP:E. I have more than races, I have RACES.

Suddenly, I am eager to eat healthy meals lacking in gluten and excessive salt. I’m making it a point to get out there and run, even if it means not getting home till 8pm on some nights. I’m working out before work doing yoga and weight training that I was blowing off pretty regularly. Even after a week off from running to nurse a bum ankle (seriously, it hurts) I found myself running again and enjoying it, not just slaving away like it was a chore. My motivation, which had been severely lacking lately, had resurfaced and with a vengeance. age out

It came at a perfect time, as well. I’ve been looking for something to get me off my lazy butt for a while, and I’m not surprised it was a race that did it. I love racing, and everything that comes with it. The nerves, the routes, the crowds, everything. It’s an adrenaline rush I haven’t felt since I performed on the floor in Dayton, Ohio the last time I marched with Paradigm Winterguard. Maybe that’s the real reason I run in costumes, yeah?

It’s an adrenaline rush that I adore, and I can’t begin to explain how excited I am that it’s back. With so many excellent races coming up that I am able to participate in, I’m just more determined to find a way to get Saturday mornings off (Or just race half marathons the entire time) in order to continue keeping this incredible feeling.

My point for all these rambles is this:  Everyone loses their motivation from time to time, and when it comes back…it’s AMAZING.

One thought on “Renewing Your Motivation – found mine!

Leave a Reply

