Taking what they’re giving…

I’ve complained about my insane schedule before, so it’s no surprise that if you are a regular follower of this blog that I’m about to do it again. I love my job, but sometimes it’s a PITA to work around hours that are complicated. I miss consistency (which is a shock because I adore spontaneity) so I can make a calendar and stick with it.

The changes, and my recently approved vacation time, might help me get back into the swing of a consistent work out regime. Believe it or not, I love consistency. I loved having a gym membership because I knew exactly when I had to be at the gym and for what class. I was able to tell my family, my friends and my Dreamboat – Look, I’m working out during this time. You won’t get me. Having to cancel my gym membership due to lack of consistency in classes I wanted (after they swore to me that they were going to have the classes full time) and funding for the gym membership (hey, those things get pricy!!) I haven’t had that constant feeling in a long time.

I keep talking about wanting to have a membership to the YMCA where they have the Les Mills classes, but it’s incredibly expensive. I just found out that there is a new LA Fitness that are going to carry them as well, so I might look into them. But all in all – I miss the constant knowing of when I was going to work out, and how it became habit.

So, when I had a meeting with my news director today about how my hours are changing in March, I was slightly frustrated. Yes, this is a new position and I’m the only one who has ever held it and we are working to determine what is the best way to make it work…but still. Thankfully, I’m actually okay with how they are going to be. Right now it’s 8:30am – 5:30pm Tuesday – Friday, and 3am – 12noon on Saturdays. Sure, I’m still working on Saturdays so that means I’m limited to what races I can do still, but the later hour going in means more sleep which means I’m more likely to run after I get out at noon. Also – getting out of work at 5:30 during week days means I can run in the evenings, and leaves my mornings free to do some weight training, yoga or other cardio.

Speaking of working out, I haven’t worked out at all this week. And after running 15 miles last Saturday you’d think I’d be okay with that, but I’m not. But I’ve been so tired and we’ve had so much going on with work that I just haven’t been able to muster the energy to go out and run. I go home and eat dinner and am asleep before 9pm lately.

Friends who keep asking me how I do it…my answer still stands: I have no freaking idea.

What I do know is that I’m doing the best I can with what I got. I’m hoping that the more consistent schedule starting in March is going to help me out some. I have downloaded the Nike Training app and am thinking about doing that in the AM before work since it’s a short, HIIT 30 minute workout. (I can beef it up to 45 minutes if need be) and then run after work. I usually run Tuesdays with my girl Tiffany, and then I want to join the CoWorkJax group on Thursdays if I can swing it. I want to be a fitness freak.

In other news – I got my vacation approved! Which means I AM going to be running the Gate River Run and my goal is 1:45. Lofty, considering I haven’t run 9 miles in that yet. The last time I did a timed run at 9 miles was 1:52. I have a month left, and I’m bound and determined to get it there. Also, I got the end of March off for my birthday (woohoo 33!) and I decided I’m going to go hang out with my girl Amber in Atlanta, and wouldn’t you  know it, she wants to sign us up for the Yeti Run. It’s a 10 mile run. In the dark. While being chased by a Yeti. Uhhhmmm….Right. Okay, well, I’m game, lets do it! Why not? I love adventures. 🙂

What is your  most adventurous race?

What’s the biggest problem you have with being consistent with your workouts? Do you have a screwed up schedule to?

Leave a Reply

