It’s a Food Thing: Did you know…?

First and foremost, I don’t believe in dieting. I think dieting is bad because it means restrictions and restrictions leads to binging and binging leads to feelings of inadequacy and that’s just not okay. Instead, I believe in everything in moderation, and enjoying every bite of food that you take.

That being said…there are a few things that I have learned over the month of monitoring what I eat, trying to be more healthy, and attempting to lose some weight. Which I haven’t done yet, much to my extreme disappointment. In fact, that’s what prompted this post! I decided to look at some of my habits and see what I’m doing wrong…er, not wrong. Just things I could be doing better and a list of things I’m doing right!

Did you know…

…That 3 Twizzlers is 140 calories. And that over 5 days that’s 700 calories. And that means that eliminating sodas and replacing them with Twizzlers is NOT exactly doing me any favors. That means,  no more newsroom Twizzlers.

…that you drink more water when it tastes good? I’ve discovered MiO and I’m in love with it. The energy ones have the right amount of power in it so I can use that overnight when I remember to use that instead of grabbing a Dr. Pepper. On a daily basis, I’m downing about 60 ounces of water now. MiO has zero calories, and so far my favorite flavors are the Black Cherry energy, the Berry Pomegranate, Fruit Punch, and the Watermelon Strawberry. I still have to try the Lemonade, Sweet Tea, and the Tangerine.

…That even a small muffin can set me back with the whole no gluten thing. A hamburger bun. One slice of bread. Contrary to my husband’s belief, I’ve learned that yes – it does leave me uncomfortable, bloated, and makes my clothes not fit. Yes. Just that little wheat makes me miserable. Are there times I say screw it and eat it and enjoy the misery? Absolutely. But more often than not, I don’t and I do what I can to not eat badly. I need to do that more often.

…that if I’m exhausted, sleep trumps all. If I’m just a little tired, to run. End of story. With a schedule like mine it’s best to pay attention to my body. While I am hellbent on getting miles in and trying to get faster, my overall health is most important. And with my crazy overnight hours on Friday/Saturday I need to be sure that rest is priority as well. (Okay so this one isn’t all food related. Still applies)

…That making this a competition with everyone I know is a bad idea. There are always going to be people faster than I am and skinnier than I am. As long as I am confident in what I do, and leave it all on the pavement, then I need to stand proud and be certain that I gave it my all. (Ditto here)

Bottom line is, I am my own worst enemy. I need to take the time to do what I can to make myself feel better despite all the craziness that is going on and not beat myself up so much when things get so busy they can’t all go smooth, clean, and fit-tastic. Bottom line – listening to your body is top priority.

3 thoughts on “It’s a Food Thing: Did you know…?

  1. Stephanie says:

    Your final sentence says it all. So true! I am amazed at what I hear from my body now that I’ve learned how to listen to it. Also, when I look back at how I “used to eat” all I can say is no wonder! I used to eat half a pizza by myself. Gosh, I wonder why I weighed more then than I do now. Hmm.

  2. Tamar says:

    You’re a smart woman, my dear. Thinking of the way you eat as a diet is setting yourself up to fail. I’m glad you know that and you are learning what does and does not work for you. Believe me I feel you on the Twizzlers thing. I LOVE THEM, just have to be careful how much you indulge. Like you said, everything in moderation. xoxo

Leave a Reply

