A Change…Will Do You Good…

And usually that’s true., it’s TOTALLY true for Sheryl Crow (by the way, how FANTASTIC does she look?!) and I know it’s true when it comes to shaking things up for a chance at shocking your body, your mind, and sometimes your soul. But sometimes, changes are frustrating and make you want to pitch a temper tantrum that would freak out any little bit going through the terrible twos.

Have you guessed what’s changed? Yep. My work schedule. Again. Allegedly it’s only for February so we can get through book, but it’s going to  make for a very long and very tiring month. With a change in work schedule, comes a change in work out schedule.

And let’s face it, I’ve been wanting to shake things up a bit so I can get back on the real swing of things. I just didn’t realize that 5:45am runs were going to back in the plan.

There’s a shake up going on at the station and that means a lot of schedule changes to accommodate training and replacements. Okay, it’s not really a shake up. But contracts are up for some people, and they are choosing to branch out and test the waters and that means a lot of schedule changes to accommodate training and replacements.

My  new schedule is as follows:

Monday: Off
Tuesday: 7:30am – 4:30pm
Wed – Fri: 9:30am – 6:30pm
Saturday: 2am – 11am
Sunday: off

Check out that really crappy turn around on Fridays to Saturdays. Yeah, it’s going to be a LONG day. It also means that having the energy to participate in any running activities (or, really, ANY activities) after I get off work is going to be so little that I’m going to just change my long runs from Saturday after work to first thing Sunday mornings. Which kind of sucks because Sunday mornings were dedicated to sleeping in and being lazy with the dreamboat husband. But I guess we can still do that, only after we’ve run. 🙂

I’m also beefing up my workouts to go into BEASTMODE. I’m joining Erica House with the Plank A Day challenge! This is from her blog post:

My challenge to you is to hold in plank as long as you can for at least 5 days a week for the duration of this challenge (One Month.) Whenever you complete a plank just leave a comment on the ChallengeLoop page saying how long you were able to hold it for. Whoever has a minimum of 20 entries for the month will be entered to win a fitness DVD of their choosing from Amazon.com!

So not only am I strengthening my core, but I have a chance to win a work out DVD? So there! But also, I want to strengthen all over, so I’m going to be doing a good strength routine at least 2 times a week. If I can score it, I’m going to try and find the Body Pump weight training system for cheap and get it at home. If not, I have some free weights at home that I plan to use.

Right now, I have the Wolfson Children’s Hospital Ultra Relay coming up on February 9, and if all goes well, I’ll be able to run the Gate River Run on March 9 as well. What I’m really training for, however, is the Tour de Pain Extreme!! 3 races in 24 hours. What makes this one extreme? It’s a 10k on Friday night, a HALF on Saturday morning, and then a 5k Saturday  night. EXTREME!!!! I’m so excited.

So that’s my life right now. How are you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

