It’s a Food Thing

With running and fitness, comes diet, and that means a weekly post called “It’s a Food Thing” where we get to talk about all things food. I like that. Don’t you like that? I mean who wouldn’t want to talk about food and drinks and yummy stuff? And don’t fret. The post won’t be all doom and gloom (I save that for my other blog!) this is more of a let’s talk about food and drool and then go have margarita’s kind of thing.

It’s been a week since I started the whole “eat clean, Idiot” process, and I can confirm some successes and some failures. Strange enough, I’m totally okay with that. I know I usually freak out and wallow in self pity about it, but the truth is changing ones diet takes TIME and can’t be an overnight change.

That’s what leads to binging on a gallon of peppermint ice cream after all. 

I have been able to eliminate most soda from my diet. This is impressive given my addiction to it, but I’ve discovered Mio. Mio is this amazing water enhancer thing that tastes great. The Black Cherry Mio that has caffeine? AMAZING. I love it. Fruit punch without caffeine? Also yummy. Seriously, this stuff is making me drink more and more water, which is great. Not that I don’t just like water. Because I do. But sometimes you want something amazing in flavor and have it help you get through the long stressful days at work drinking something fun instead of eating the junk food I actually want. I still drink soda on my overnight shift. I try not to, but if I have to sit at work at 4am and listen to people call and complain about random stuff because they are drunk and bored on a Friday  night, I’m going to do it while drinking a vanilla coke. Just sayin.

We’ve beefed up our veggie intake. This excites me, because it’s almost like we forgot how much we like veggies. Last night, I roasted zucchini and squash with some really yummy spices and some olive oil. We scarfed it up. The night before I mixed fresh green beans in with the stroganoff that I made. YUM. I am already planning some meals around some fantastic other veggies, like sweet potatoes (savory ones are fun too!) and roasted cauliflower. I don’t know how to do it, but I wanna try it.

More fresh, lean meats! We have a freezer full of meats, so why aren’t we cooking them? Because we have been a little addicted to the rushed lifestyle and didn’t take the time to cook. It’s a PITA that by the time everything is done it’s later than we both want it to be, but it’s worth it for fresh, yummy food.

I’ve rediscovered popcorn. 5 cups of air-popped popcorn is only 140 calories! I don’t put butter on mine, just a touch of kosher salt. Plus, hello fiber! Also – I missed my trail mix. Almonds, Pistachios, white chocolate chips, and craizins. Best stuff ever. Oatmeal for breakfast for now, something different like hard boiled eggs when it gets warm out.

My failures? I am still trying to get the whole no-gluten thing going. It’s not easy to get back on that particular band wagon when we have mountains of “normal” pasta at home and no gluten free breads. It’s kind of my fault, I didn’t tell Brian to grab those, but it’s an easy fix. Every time we go to the grocery store, we start stocking up on the gluten free stuff. Udi’s makes some awesome stuff, and I adore the quinoa pasta. Brian likes the pasta as well.

Eating in general — someone remind me to actually eat my meals during the day please! I have a tendency to not eat and then try to run and that’s just bad. I’m working on doing better though!

Check me out on My Fitness Pal and follow along if you are on there – and let me know what you want to see here! Do you want recipe’s and ideas? Just me blabbering about food? Tell me what you want, what you really really want!

One thought on “It’s a Food Thing

  1. Mary says:

    Recipes would be great! It’s nice to see what works for others. What is this quinoa pasta recipe? I have boat loads of quinoa sitting in my pantry but no ideas of how to use them!

    I’ve been a My Fitness Pal user for a few years now. I also keep a hand written food journal because I feel more accountable when I have to actually write it down. Looking you up on there today!

Leave a Reply

