Review the GU.

I don’t run fast, but I do run long distances. One of the things about long distances is you burn through your personal fuel fast, especially in high heat. That’s why you need to carry something that will help you get through to mile 9 or 13 or even 26.

That’s why GU is a great option. When I contacted them and asked if I could review their product and then give some away to my fantastic readers, they were super polite and send a fantastic stash!

IMG_4506

 

So, what’s GU? The website answers that perfectly.

GU Energy Gel provides athletes with a dose of 100 calories to deliver high-quality, easily-digested and long-lasting energy for athletes in every sport and at all levels. Everything inside each packet of GU is engineered to do one simple thing: provide your body with the essential nutrition it needs to keep going for miles and miles and hours and hours. It goes down easy, and it goes to work fast so you don’t have to slow down.

What’s in it? Also from their website:

Carbohydrates – GU provides athletes with a dose of 100 calories in the form of 70-80% maltodextrin and 30-20% fructose (The ratio depends upon the flavor.). Why the mix? It’s a complex carbohydrate, and studies have shown that some complex carbs are actually digested faster than simple sugars like table sugar and honey.

Amino Acid Blend – GU features a unique blend of amino acids to combat muscle fatigue, accelerate the conversion of carbohydrates into usable energy, and maintain mental focus.

Electrolytes – Sodium and potassium to replenish what is lost during strenuous activity.

Caffeine – Some GU flavors are caffeinated while others are not. We add caffeine for two reasons: It acts as a stimulant and it lowers the perceived effort.

IMG_4519

I like to run long distances, and the fuel I get when I use GU is perfect for that. You take it 15 minutes before you are about to work out. I usually refuel every 30 minutes if I’m doing more than 6 miles in order to make sure that I am finishing strong. Personally, I like the peppermint stick (holiday only) and the vanilla, but if you are a chocolate fan…it tastes like frosting! I also am a big fan of the caffeine added ones. Who doesn’t love a little burst of energy?

I took a vanilla GU at the start of my 9 miler on Sunday, and didn’t feel the need to refuel until around mile 5. I did with another vanilla and was able to finish my 9 miles in a strong 1:51, which is faster than I have been doing it. I plan on getting a bunch more for my race in just under 2 weeks. Will GU help me make the 2:36 half time I have been begging for? We’ll see!

IMG_4507

In each Swag Bag is 6 GU’s for your tasting and testing pleasure! In the regular GU, there is a vanilla bean, tri berry, espresso love, and chocolate outrage. These would be perfect for a long run, or you can use one at the start of a really hard work out! And, if you are like my friend Kat, you can use it in the middle of the day during a lull!

IMG_4508

You will also get two ROCTANE GU’s! One flavored Island Nectars and one flavored Cherry Lime. These are for serious work outs. Roctane Ultra Endurance products are the premium energy source for committed endurance athletes who are experienced and competitive and undertake long (4+ hours) or intense (above lactate threshold) efforts. I’m going to use them during my next half!

IMG_4509

Then you will also get TWO of these yummy additions! GU Brews! It’s a tablet that you drop into your water that will give you those electrolytes you just burned back in a flash! There are Tri-Berry, Peach Tea, and Pink Grapefruit. Who knows which flavors YOU will get in the Swag Bag.

So that means you will get 4 standard GUs, 2 ROCTANE GUs, and 2 GU Brews = that’s 8 GUs!! To win the swag bag, go comment on THIS POST to enter, and keep watching for more reviews. GOOD LUCK! 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Review the GU.

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love the Gu Brew and use those for every run! They got me through the half marathon on Thanksgiving morning!! I may give the Chocolate Gu a shot cuz I love frosting!!! Yum …. thanks for the review!

    • jljohnson says:

      I can’t do chocolate while running, it just doesn’t work well with me…but Kat, one of my running buddies, swears by it! Glad you like! Let me know how you like the Chocolate! 🙂

      IRG – Jamie

  2. Stephanie says:

    I got turned on to the peanut butter flavored Gu when I did the L.A. Rock & Roll half. So since I’m doing marathon training right now, I went out and bought a whole box of it. I did see that holiday flavor, and almost bought it!

    • jljohnson says:

      I LOVE everything mint. It’s weird of me, I know, but when she gave me that, I was OBSESSED with it. I’m so getting some for myself for Christmas! 🙂 I haven’t tried the peanut butter one. I’ll have to check that out! 🙂

      IRG – Jamie

  3. Tamar says:

    Ha another product I have been itching to try. Have just made it up to the 6 mile mark though so I didn’t really see the need to use anything like this before now.

Leave a Reply

