Eating Overhaul, take…85?

Way back when I was first starting out this whole get healthy journey…even before I started running…I went to a nutritionist. This lady, who worked out at Jax Beach, was super nice and patient as I wigged out on her for not being able to lose weight after working out 2 hours a day and eating what I thought was healthy. She told me to keep a food journal for two weeks then come back and see her.

Thinking you eat healthy…and actually doing it are two very, very different things.

She monitored my food and helped me make better choices than I had been. Changing a lot of processed food to fresh, making meals instead of grabbing on the go, things like that. She was also the one who pointed out that I might be having a significant intolerance to gluten. One of the things I complained about was having horrible, painful bloating and the drastic tightening in my clothing after I had a meal heavy in wheat. I didn’t understand it at the time, but once she pointed it out to me it made perfect sense. Once I started to eliminate that out of my diet, I felt so much better it was stupid. The nutritionist had told me that people with a dairy allergy (which I have) are most likely to get gluten problems. Is that true? Who knows. I just know that it felt better to not eat is so that’s what I did.

Once I started running, I did an even bigger overhaul. No more soda, no more fried foods, lots of hours at the gym and lots of miles. Throw in a medication that took my appetite away and suddenly the weight was FALLING off. It was great! I was feeling healthier and stronger. Then…I had to get off the medication, and suddenly I was starving. And I had to drop the gym because they changed their programs again and I wasn’t happy. And I got a new job and my miles drop dramatically.

When it’s all said and done – a really bad half marathon that I wanted to rock ended up being the kick in my ass to get back in control. So why is it that the workouts are the easy part, even if it means getting up at the crack of dawn, and the eating overhaul is the hard part?

I’m addicted to soda again, more for the caffeine than anything else. I’ve been eating breads and gluten packed food like it’s nobodies business and then wonder why the hell I feel so lousy and uncomfortable. Getting back on track is one of the hardest things I’ve done. In order to make it easier, I’m going back to the basics.

I’ve stolen a reporter notebook from work and made it my food log. Sure, I have My Fitness Pal on my phone, but counting calories right now is a bad thing because I’ll do enough damage berating myself for not sticking to it that it will become counter productive. Keeping tally on what I am eating is the better way to go. I’m throwing out the junk food when I get up in the morning to run. Not giving it away – throwing it OUT. I don’t need it in my house, and neither does Dreamboat. I have fruit and veggies and tons of yummy stuff, but I want the cookies and the pretzels because they are there. Time to ditch them.

I think one of the biggest things that will help me is the elimination of the gluten again. The weight I put on isn’t bad, and if I don’t have to fight the severe bloating, my clothes all still fit. Plus – I’ll FEEL better. And that’s the whole point right?

Who has some awesome gluten free meals that they can suggest? Anyone have Quinoa? I’d love to try it.

2 thoughts on “Eating Overhaul, take…85?

  1. Tamar says:

    I feel you on getting off track with the food sometimes. I ate pumpkin pie this week…not once but twice, and I really want to eat more LOL. The best thing to do is not beat yourself up over it, realize you’re only human, and then get back on track. Which is what you are doing now. You can do it my dear J, I have faith in you and you know you have faith in yoursel.

  2. roundtoravishing says:

    I eat a ton of quinoa, when I went to clean eating it replaced most pasta anything I ate as well as you can make COOKIES out of it. I save all my quinoa recipes I have collected on pinterest if you are a pinner here is the link to my quinoa board. Most of the recipes are pretty easy to switch over to clean eating if they are not too.

Leave a Reply

