Moments of Randomness

I was goofing off on pinterest and searched Half Marathon training. There are pictures of half’s across the country, some I want to do and some I don’t want to do…pictures of people finishing their half…and training stuff. I stumbled across a link for the Hal Higdon Novice 2 half training. I looked at the little button as I repinned it and sighed.

Dammit. I need to run…but I’m SO tired….

This post could be because I’m exhausted and my brain is wandering…or it could be because there is a point to my thoughts. Either way, you’ve been warned.

As I re-pinned the little button, mocking me as I stared at it, I realized…I’m not like some of the other people in my life who have the time to drop everything and run. I am not like I was before I got this new gig and was able to drop everything and run. And yeah, sometimes I think that having my old schedule would be fantastic because I had the time to run in the mornings and still had time to do what I needed to do…But I was able to run in the morning when Brian was at work, and then I went to work and worked till midnight. Now I’m trying to go and run when he leaves for work in the morning, when I’m usually sleeping…

Maybe it really is my schedule just hasn’t adjusted yet….

ANYWAY – this isn’t the point of this entry. The point is – despite not being able to run as hard core as I was, I feel like I’m only slightly behind where I was before. This time last year, my 3 mile runs were significantly longer than 38 minutes because of the heat and whatnot. Yesterday was a solid 12:30 mile the entire time…and that had a lot of walking in it, which means my running was faster than that. Hmm. And if that is the case, then maybe I am not doing as terrible as I think I am because I’m not pounding out the number of miles that Kat is weekly.

THEN – my brain went, well how awesome would it be if those of us underdogs are able to make our goal and maybe blast it away even though we aren’t killing ourselves on the pavement? I’m not belittling the people who are able to go out there and do 30+ miles a week every week, till the end of time…I’m merely saying that not everyone has that ability to do that. Some of us have other things that are demanding our attentions. Yes I”m still obsessed with running, but no…I don’t have the ability to do what a few of my other friends can do.

So how awesome would it be if I could still make my 2:30 goal without murdering myself in the process? It’d be pretty awesome. And that’s not to say that I”m not going to beef up my runs. I’m working on figuring out what my problem is health wise (time to try taking those meds in the AM instead of the PM to see if that helps) but I’m not going to be able to do 5 miles a day 7 days a week. I’ll be lucky to get 3-4 during the week, and then my long runs.

I hope my rambling isn’t too undecipherable. The gist of it all is this: stop beating yourself up over things you can’t control, work the best you can, and focus. You can do this and that’s all that matters.

Oh, and sleep deprivation is great for revelations of the heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

