but…run! *pouty face*

“Set the alarm for another 30 minutes and then I’ll get up and run,” I said to Brian as he was getting ready to leave for the morning.

“No, I’m setting it for 7:30. You need to sleep,” he said.

“No I need to run. The Tour de Pain is coming up and I’m out of shape,” I said with a yawn. 

“And you fell asleep at 8:30 last night. You need to sleep,” Brian said. I grumbled out a ‘fine’ but the truth is, I was asleep before I even heard the front door close indicating him leaving our condo. 

I hate admitting defeat, especially when it’s something that is out of my control. Yesterday I started my two-a-days much to the concern of Dreamboat.

“Take it easy. You don’t want to injure yourself trying to do this,” he had told me. I brushed him off and said I knew what I was doing. I did 5 mile bridges in the morning with Kat (which were not my best) and I did an easy 3 in the evening. I felt good, tired, but good. Truth is – I also felt lousy because I knew that I was starting to get sick. It was like 90 something degrees outside, and I was wearing a long sleeved shirt, flannel pj pants, chenille socks and covered myself with a quilt made by Brian’s friend out in Seattle, which was really really warm. (maybe THAT was why I fell asleep at 8:30?)

I finally made it into my bed at 9:30pm, only a half hour earlier than my usual bed time, and I know I said something to Brian when he got into bed but I don’t remember much about it. And then it was this morning. 

I missed my run. Part of me is really annoyed. I need miles, and I need to run. But at the same time, I’m so glad I slept more instead. I still feel tired and semi-crappy, but at least the extra sleep helped. I might just skip today all together and move my rest day from Friday to today. 

Thank goodness I have Dreamboat to take care of me. I clearly don’t know when to stop.

3 thoughts on “but…run! *pouty face*

  1. bearcountryrunner says:

    Ahem, okay, reality check, Jamie. You have a job, a hubby, a life, and falling asleep at 8:30pm is a sign you’re overtraining. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You work so hard, put the judgment away, okay? It’s quality of workouts, not quantity. You are a fierce runner (and person), don’t kill yourself to get in workouts that will only result in injury. It’s better to be undertrained for a race than overtrained and injured, right?

    • jljohnson says:

      You are right, Amanda. I know you are. But all I keep hearing the the back of my head is “Get out there, fat ass. You have miles to run!”

      I’m my biggest and worst enemy. But I’m trying to do better. And being undertrained is better than overtrained and injured. I agree. And it’s not like I haven’t run this race before. I know what to expect.

  2. bearcountryrunner says:

    Don’t you wish we were 16 again when we could just ignore aches and pains and do 10 more push ups and 10 more run-throughs? Ah, the old days…

Leave a Reply

