sleepy idiot runner girl…

It’s 7:30am and I’m sitting here at work on a Friday and I’m exhausted. My shins hurt, my IT’s ache, and my left ankle is sore where the tendons are on the top of my foot to my leg. My legs ached walking up the stairs to get to the makeshift newsroom.

My running times have been absolute crap since I can’t handle the heat and I’ve just started to run again, and having to get up early to do it is killing me.

But I’ve never felt better.

Make sense? In a way that only a fellow runner can understand. When we are not able to run for a while due to an injury (or laziness, or work, or life events…) getting back into it is the best and the worst thing ever. Those runs afterward, as you try to get back into things, are hard and painful…but also awesome. That’s kind of how I feel. I’ve been slowly getting back into the usual regime of running, where I run almost every day…run the bridges…do speed work…and I’m exhausted. I’m so tired. But I’m also loving every painful moment of this rehabilitation.

I’ve signed up for the Tour de Pain (the normal one) and it’s August 10/11. I want to be able to bust out good times, but most importantly I have a one mile sizzler time to beat. Last year I did it in 10:40, and I’d kill to be able to do it either closer to 10 minutes or even under. Then, there is the beaches run. Oooh. I  need to update my run calender.

I also want to drop some weight and get back to where I was before I stopped the appetite suppressing Topamax…so I am using MyFitnessPal on my iPhone. It’s interesting seeing how calories add up. I haven’t done it in a while, and watching how what you eat when you don’t usually count calories…it’s just interesting. Since starting this, I’ve stopped drinking as much soda and upped a lot of fruit and veggies. Which is also a rude awakening. Who knew OJ had that many calories!?

I just need to run more. 🙂

Anyway, I just miss you – my readers – and writing more often. Given I have been so busy with the new job, blogging has been hard. I hope to get back into it so I’m at least every other day once again…I love your encouragement and hope I am doing the same for you.

One thought on “sleepy idiot runner girl…

Leave a Reply

