Little update!

Trying to get back into running after being out with an injury is kind of a pain in the ass. And the lungs. And the legs. Well…pretty  much a pain in the everything.

I didn’t think that two and a half weeks of not running was going to do that kind of damage to me. Frustrating doesn’t even begin to start it, and then add in the fact that I’m at a new job with a new schedule and new responsibilities? It’s hard to find the time or the motivation.

That’s why you need to MAKE it happen.

I’m not going to lie – this morning I totally stayed in bed for an extra hour instead of getting up and going for a run. I’m just tired. Trying to get used to working a day shift as opposed to a night shift isn’t as easy as I thought it would be. I’m trying to get up and be out the door on a run by 6:30am, to be home and showered and off to work by no later than 8:30. It’s doable, and I can make it happen if I can get my butt out of bed.

It’s just not that easy when you are in a warm, comfy cuddly bed! 😀

I’m starting back at it slowly, that way I can pay attention to my feet and make sure that there are no more injuries to be had. Sun Salutations also help! For the next few weeks nothing over 3 miles. Our half marathon training officially kicks in mid July sometime, so I want to make sure that we keep things together. We have some races intermingled with that too. I’m hoping to be able to run the Marine Corp Half, but it’s the weekend after the wedding I am in, so I have to figure out if I can do that too. I have to make sure I can get two weekends off back to back. I also found out that Richard, my favorite weather guy, is MCing the event! Yay!!

Camo tutu here I come!!

I’m really tempted, to be completely honest, to just take the entire week off between the Color Me Rad and the Marine Corp Half and spend it as vacation. I have 10 days left to take as it is! Why not? Early anniversary! 🙂 For the most part, however, the race calender is up to date. Some races had to be left off now that I’m working Saturday mornings, but that leaves me grabbing the ones I want to do.

Oh! I’m now on Pintrest! You can find me here: http://pinterest.com/idiotrunnergirl/   I am already kind of addicted to it. 🙂

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand……..I guess that’s it. More to come!

One thought on “Little update!

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    I’m not sure it’s the right way to say this, but I’m glad other people aren’t getting up to go for a run either…! Each morning I set my alarm, and each morning I ignore it for half an hour. I think once I get the first one out of the way, I’ll get into a routine. Motivation needed!

Leave a Reply

