ache vs pain: injury prevention

There is a distinct difference in an ache and a pain. An ache is a deep seeded soreness that proves to you that you worked muscles and joints in that last work out. It’s stiffness that needs to be worked out by simple stretching and maybe some time in a hot tub or sauna to use heat as a tension release. Pain, on the other hand, is different.

Pain is sharp and direct; almost like you could pin point exactly where the pain is. It feels different, it’s not dull, it’s localized. It’s also a sign of an injury, or one to come.

Since the race on Saturday, I hurt. my calves are super sore and my hips ache. My shoulders are tight and my neck is still really tight from holding my head up. I did get a migraine from the tumbles I took in the water, but for the most part I’m okay. What’s hurting the most, however, are my heels.

It hurts to walk. A strike to my heel causes a sharp pain that makes me wince. I recognize this pain…this is how my heels hurt before I got Plantar Faciatis. The injury that was so bad when I finally realized that my heel hurt forced me not to run for a year. And now I feel it in both heels. This is bad. This is very bad. And I think my really tight, sore calves have something to do with this as well.

You can read more about it here, but even before I familiarization myself with the needs and whatnot I knew that I was done running for at least a week. Probably two, to be safe, considering it’s both feet. Instead, I’ll be hitting up the weight room to use the leg press to stretch out the muscles and I’ll be hitting up the pool and the hot tub to help relax them muscles (and to relax in general). I want to do insanity or something, but it hurts to walk…let alone jump or anything.

The lesson is this: Listen to your body. It will tell you when it needs a break and when it is close to injury. Know the difference between an ache and pain. This will help you. 🙂

3 thoughts on “ache vs pain: injury prevention

  1. Stacey says:

    Oh man. Not good, not good!! Hang in there. Switch to swimming/biking? Spin class really helped me get rid of my PF a few years ago. Standing on the pedals helped stretch everything out. I hurt my ankle on Sunday, and I’m being forced to swim/bike this week. boo

    • jljohnson says:

      I am going to do a lot of swimming and try to get some serious stretching in. I wore my boot for the first time in months last night and I had such cramps in my calves!! I knew then that this was serious. I don’t wanna be stopped! 😦

  2. John says:

    Use a frozen water bottle as a roller on the bottom of your feet (and/or calves & legs). See, fitfor365.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/home-physiotherapy-2/

Leave a Reply

