National Running Day!

My family isn’t the healthiest. Heart disease, diabetes, high blood pressure…we are like pressure cookers waiting to explode. It was way back when my dad had his first KNOWN heart attack. He was a pack a day smoker, who downed 3 pots of coffee easy and didn’t know what eating healthy or exercise was before that. After a quad open heart bypass surgery that left him in the hospital for almost a month afterward because he wasn’t supposed to survive it, I realized that my health is way more important than I am thinking it is.

Of course it took me a while to get there.

I started running a long time ago, but didn’t start taking it seriously till last year. I was doing a year off for a messed up foot, and was itching to get back into it. I started out barely able to run a 5k in 2011, and by the end of that year I finished 3 half marathons. I went from 204 to 161, and I went from a size 16/18 to a size 12.

I run so I can keep up with my cousins and my niece. I run so I can not breath hard going up and down the stairs. I run so I can feel confident wearing a two piece bathing suit at the pool. I run to look good naked. And I run so I don’t end up like my dad in 6 years.

Why do you run?

Leave a Reply

