…chicks are bitches, man.

So, Brian and I went to Charlotte for the Coca-Cola 600 NASCAR race this past weekend, and while we were on the way there I opened up my Glamour magazine. I had bought it while I was at the hospital with my Dad last week and didn’t have a chance to read it. Since traffic was sucking royally, I decided that reading it then would be a great idea. That’s when I saw this:

I always knew chicks were bitches…This just confirmed it for me yet again.

The story went on to talk about how skinny girls were seen, and how larger girls were seen. It talked about how even those who were judged passed judgement on other women as well. It talked about how women are cruel to each other in very evil ways. You can read the article online here.

“I’ve been judged for being too thin and too fat,” says Nikki Nemeyer, 41, a nurse in West Melbourne, Florida, who at 5’10” has swung between 115 and 235 pounds. “You’re either a self-centered bitch who is starving herself, or a slob with no willpower who’s eating everything in sight.”

I read the article out to Brian as we drove and from time to time we’d stop and comment on it. He said he isn’t surprised by the story at all and to be fair, neither am I. I would be lying if I said that I never looked at a skinny girl who I envied and thought “Stupid bitch and her skinny body” or looked at a girl who was heavier and thought “Wow, I hope I never get like that. She’s so huge”…but I don’t think I have ever thought a “fat” girl to be  “lazy” or “sloppy”…But I have had it done to me.

What scares me is how much farther it goes than just catty competition between women. The article talked about how heavier women were overlooked and sometimes paid less for jobs than their skinnier counterparts. All based on stereotypes and false impressions. Is a heavier girl really going to be that much worse at her job than a skinnier girl? Am I going to be a crappy employee at 163, which is what I currently weigh, than I could be if I get back down to the 154 I was before I stopped taking the Topamax? Or is the skinny girl at 115 lbs going to be even better than that? My weight shouldn’t matter.

Read the article and share with me your thoughts. I’m genuinely curious about what you think about it.

4 thoughts on “…chicks are bitches, man.

  1. CJV says:

    I had read about the “big people earn less” issue when I took social psych. It’s sad that people are judged for things that are, more often than not, genetic. It has been my experience that some of the ‘largest’ people I know are big BECAUSE they’re so busy with their work. These people are neither lazy nor incompetent, else they wouldn’t be so busy. I’ve also known really skinny people who couldn’t find their way out of shoebox if they had to and are inept at everything, even something as simple as breathing. Bottom line is this…..people today are too judgmental. We need to get our heads out of other people’s lives and pay more attention to our own. Maybe then we would have the insight needed to be compassionate with and understanding of others.

  2. tootallfritz says:

    Really sad. I do my very best not to judge people but I do sometimes wonder (in my head) why people are the way that they are both physically & emotionally. I look and wonder what circumstances shaped them into the person they are today. So much of who we are is based upon how we can emotionally process life……and some days are just better than others, ya know?

    • jljohnson says:

      I agree completely. It’s so sad that people become so bitter. Shouldn’t we all just enjoy life and ourselves while we have the ability to?

      Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  3. Ruth Sheldon says:

    I remember working for a company in Canada (I won’t say where) and my boss was a total weasel. He would flirt and give more hours to the younger, “perkier”, more attractive cashiers and people like me, (who he couldn’t fire just for being overweight, although I’m sure he would if he wanted to) got our hours docked until most of the “chubby” girls quit. One girl (a pretty, but not that bright of a girl) told me I was being paranoid and don’t worry about it and my hours would pick up. Eventually I quit and went to college and those younger and skinnier didn’t stay so young and skinny. The next time I went back that same girl was surprised that she had been bumped down to 8 hours a week and couldn’t “FIGURE” out why. She was still beautiful, but she wasn’t skinny. I just smiled knowingly. what could I say? “Sorry, [Susie], Your hours got docked because you gained weight”? *shrugs* there’s no doubt in my mind there is Definitely a stereotype to do with women and their looks.

    Actually we had a good conversation as my husband asked why at most bars women were forced to wear short skirts and tight low-cut tops. I explained, they technically can’t FORCE you to dress provocatively, but women have figured out, short skirt + tight low-cut top equals better tips.

Leave a Reply

