‘Being Healthy’ has lots of definitions

I feel beaten up. I know that sounds stupid considering, but I do. I couldn’t understand why I felt like I had been hit by a truck last night when I got home from work. I was exhausted and still it took me forever to fall asleep. Once I was out, I was out hard…but still.

Then I realized that as soon as I landed back in Jacksonville from LA, I was sick. Then the next day, for the next 7 actually, I went to work. Sick. I had last Thursday off, worked last Friday, last Saturday off, then worked again. All while sick, really sick, and taking meds for it. It’s no wonder why now, almost two weeks since my trip, I still feel like I’ve been hit by a truck.

It didn’t stop me from running yesterday, although my entire body screamed at me to not get up at 8:30am and to stay in bed for a while longer. Sleep is really more important than that, but if I am going to get back into my old regime of working out in the AM as well as in the PM, I needed to get my butt out of bed.  So I did and I ran 3.19 miles in about 38 minutes which is slow, but I’m also coming off of being it by a truck. So I figured I could cut myself some slack.

Even now as I sit here typing this, I’m exhausted. I feel lethargic and tired, like I could easily curl back up in bed and crash out. Taking care of yourself is more than just working out and running and being fit, it also means listening to your body and realizing what it needs. And trying to find a happy medium between resting and running is not easy.

That being said, I’m making a calender for May to factor in runs in the evening during my dinner breaks and doing Insanity in the AM. That’s right! A friend of mine burned me a copy of the DVDs and I’m super stoked. I plan on starting it soon. I was going to do it today, but I just don’t have the energy to do it. Plus I have to transfer it all onto my laptop so I can use it correctly.

Part of me is jealous and feeling competitive about how some of my other friends are doing a lot better than I am right now, but I need to remember that I am just coming off of being sick…not just sick, but enough that I had to go to the doctor and get three prescriptions to get better. I have to remember that I need to listen to my body and make sure that I’m not pushing so hard that I relapse or worse – cause myself injury. I’m having a hard time with that. In the past I’d just suck it up and go out there and pound pavement regardless of how wrecked my breathing was or how lethargic I felt.

I can already hear it – Being healthy has lots of definitions. Taking care of yourself is number one, and if your body needs rest then give it rest. There is plenty of time later to run.

Like tonight, with Tiffany on my dinner break.

Leave a Reply

