Eating is hard…

First – thank you Supernatural (one of my favorite shows) for helping me with that title. It’s supposed to be “Writing is hard” but…eating is hard. (FYI – I am totally a Sam girl at heart, and I relate more to Dean being an oldest child, but both Sam and Dean are dreamy.)

Seriously.

For someone who doesn’t believe in diets and who doesn’t count calories or anything like that, I usually pride myself on being pretty reasonable when it comes to my food choices. Lately, however, it’s been one very long, out of control binge.

I want to blame it on the fact that I’ve weened myself off of the Topamax and I no longer have that appetite suppressant that came with the medication. I want to blame it on the fact that for the first time in a long while we have junk food in the house. I want to blame it on the peeps and other candy that my Mom has given to us thanks to the Easter holiday. But I can’t because the truth is I have zero self control unless I really put my mind to it.

I’ve been doing good on the soda front. I’ve been drinking a lot more water and tea than soda. And it’s homemade sweet tea, so it’s already got significantly less sugar than your market brands because Brian likes it less sweet. It took me 2 weeks to go through a 12 pack of Vanilla Coke which is my guilty pleasure, and I’m proud of that considering I usually have it finished in a few days. I’m also not counting the Sambuca and Sprite’s I have been drinking from time to time. (Sambuca is an amazing digestive and I usually drink a shot of it in a glass of Sprite simply b/c I can’t do it straight) I’ve been doing pretty good about eating a lot of fruit. I usually buy a cantelope, apples, strawberries, and peaches every week and those are my snacks. As well as some almonds or peanuts or something of the sort. I’ve been eating a cup of greek yogurt practically every day for the protein boost, and it’s also just really good.

But here are my downfalls: I’m not supposed to be eating bread or pasta because I’m supposed to be doing a gluten free diet. I’ve been eating them recently, including Matzo as well. It leaves me feeling bloated and huge despite the scale not moving. The candy and the chips I’ve been binging on? Not helping. I know I have a sweet tooth, but candy isn’t a smart option for that.

Not eating in a timely manner? Also a bad thing. I need to eat breakfast every morning, and I need to eat lunch at a time that is sufficient and while I do sometimes put off dinner till 8 or 9pm, I need to actually eat a meal and not snack on things that are bad for me. Doing so will keep me from coming home hungry after midnight and binging on food.

I need to restart my food journal, and I need to give myself compliments for the good I am doing and not just criticize myself for the bad. And I need to remember that eating a small serving of chips isn’t “bad” it’s just not something I should do at 12:45am when I’m about to crash for the night.

I’m working hard on getting my workouts back in order, I need to work just as hard getting my diet back under control as well.

2 thoughts on “Eating is hard…

  1. Ashley says:

    Good for you realizing everything that needs work. Im a late night eater too and that needs to stop. If you love pasta but are going gluten free try rice noodles? I really like them and they feel pretty pasta ish.

Leave a Reply

