Hello world!

Hi!

I’m Jamie. Or, Idiot Runner Girl.

I started seriously running again in January 2011 after getting the okay from my doctor that the injury I had given myself had healed enough and I was able to run again. When I started, I was barely able to get through 2 miles without killing myself.  A year without any real physical activity had made me start with a clean slate: I had put on so much weight it was embarrassing, I was out of breath from doing normal things like walking up the stairs, and I hated the way I looked. But getting that okay to work out again was like a blessing and I threw myself into it with vigor and surrounded myself with people who were supportive and positive.

By the end of the year, I had dropped over 50 lbs, I had run 3 half marathons, and had found the self confidence that I had lost over the previous year that left me miserable.

I still have a long way to go, and I’m by no means a genius at this. I’m just a normal girl, working a relatively normal job, trying to figure things out and make herself better along the way. But lately a lot of people have been coming up to me and asking me to help them out with running and I would love to have an outlet for my running stuff so…two birds, one stone?

You can thank my best friend Kat for this one. It was all her idea to begin with.

So here it is: Idiot Runner Girl’s blog. Let’s hope it keeps you entertained and informed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

